View Full Version : include
How is it that I can use include to obtain variables from another site. I tryed this but I did not work.
script on http://www.site1.com/vars.php
<?php
$VAR = "this is a test";
?>
script on http://www.site2.com/getvars.php
<?php
include 'http://www.site1.com/vars.php';
echo $VAR;
?>
I just have no clue..I looked on php.net but there was no real hlp as of how to do this.
Thanks
- Neon
assassingod
06-16-2003, 07:35 PM
Worked fine for me...
Cloudrunner
06-16-2003, 07:42 PM
<?php
include 'http://www.site1.com/vars.php';
echo $VAR;
?>
I believe that the include should look thusly:
<?php
include ('http://www.site1.com/vars.php');
echo $VAR;
?>
Since both include and require are functions of PHP...could be wrong of course...
amykhar
06-16-2003, 07:48 PM
With the way permissions are, you should read about including remote files. For security reasons, you can't just use variables in a file that you include from somebody else's site.
You can show the output of the file, but you can't access the variable values. If I recall correctly, fopen will let you use the variables, but you will need access permissions to the file. It's been a long time since I had to do this.
Search on Google for remote include php
filburt1
06-16-2003, 07:53 PM
More specifically: think about what you could do if you could have scripts between two servers interact. It would be a nightmare. Security would be gone.
thats if you designed it without security measures. Thanks all for the info.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.