View Full Version : Error??
webhost
05-05-2003, 05:08 AM
Can someone help with this
I have tried putting ; after the last > still does not work though.
Parse error: parse error, unexpected '\"', expecting ',' or ';' in /home/usr/public_html/category.php on line 26
echo "<link href=""\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\">
Boofo
05-05-2003, 05:12 AM
Try this:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="base.css" />
webhost
05-05-2003, 05:18 AM
Same here is what I have now
http://realwebhost.net/category.php
echo "<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>";
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<link rel="stylesheet" href="base.css" />
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Boofo
05-05-2003, 05:25 AM
Take the echo " out of it and try it. Just like I gave you.
webhost
05-05-2003, 05:31 AM
Now get error line 29 is the first <tr>
Parse error: parse error, unexpected '<' in
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<link href="/base.css" rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' />";
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Q: $question
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
A:$answer
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>";
}
echo "</table>";
} // end questions
?>
you have to escape all double quotes \" that are inside other double quotes
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<link href=\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\" />
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Q: $question
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
A:$answer
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>";
}
echo "</table>";
} // end questions
?>
webhost
05-05-2003, 05:47 AM
Getting error on line 15 in code below which is
echo "<a href=""\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
http://realwebhost.net/category.php
and look at bottom
here is file
<?php
$dbi= mysql_connect('localhost','usr','pass');
mysql_select_db('dbname');
$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt = "SELECT cid, cname
FROM
faq_categories1
WHERE
cid IN (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,2 0,21,22,23,24)
";
$sql_get_faq_categories1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_categories1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_categories1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
while(list($cid,$cname)=mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_f aq_categories1))
{
echo "<a href=""\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
}// done topics so now display question if appropriateif((int)$_REQUEST['cid']>0)
{
$cid = $_GET['cid']; // <<< --- ADDDED
$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt = "SELECT fid, cid, question, answer, timestamp
FROM
faq_questions1
WHERE
cid = $cid
";
$sql_get_faq_questions1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_questions1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_questions1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
echo "<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>";
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<link href='/base.css' rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' /><tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Q: $question
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
A:$answer
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>";
}
echo "</table>";
} // end questions
?>
Black Vivi
05-05-2003, 08:52 AM
try this:
<?php
$dbi= mysql_connect('localhost','usr','pass');
mysql_select_db('dbname');
$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt = "SELECT cid,cname FROM faq_categories1 WHERE cid IN (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,2 0,21,22,23,24)";
$sql_get_faq_categories1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_categories1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_categories1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
echo("<link href=\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\" />");
if (!$cid) {
$cid=1;
}
while (list($cid,$cname)=mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_ca tegories1))
{
echo "<a href=""\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
}// done topics so now display question
if ((int)$_REQUEST['cid']>0)
{
$cid = $_GET['cid']; // <<< --- ADDDED
$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt = "SELECT fid,cid,question,answer,timestamp FROM faq_questions1 WHERE cid = $cid ";
$sql_get_faq_questions1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_questions1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_questions1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
echo "<table cellpadding=\"0\" cellspacing=\"0\" border=\"0\" align=\"center\" width=\"100%\">";
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<tr>
<td valign=\"top\">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Q: $question
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
A:$answer
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>";
}
echo "</table>";
} // end questions
?>
it's because it's trying to get a CID, which isn't there
there are better ways of fixing this, but i rushed that...
lol
it shud still work tho
webhost
05-05-2003, 09:17 AM
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING, expecting ',' or ';' in /home/user/public_html/category1.php on line 18
echo "<a href=""\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
filburt1
05-05-2003, 10:28 AM
Note: every time I use a | below it's really a backslash (sometimes the board parses them):
echo "<a href=|"" . $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] . "?cid=$cid|">$cname</a><br>";
webhost
05-05-2003, 10:39 AM
ok just about there, I have included page category.php which is the page above with your last change into http://realwebhost.net/faq1.php. Has you can see the page opens up great with all information looking the way it should. Now click on one of the catergories watch the page, the table and footer get screwy.
Joey
webhost
05-05-2003, 11:10 AM
We have attached the 2 files for you to look at.
Black Vivi
05-05-2003, 12:16 PM
faq1.php seems to be the specials page by its self actually...
webhost
05-05-2003, 01:26 PM
<a href="http://www.realwebhost.net/faq1.php" target="_blank">http://www.realwebhost.net/faq1.php</a>
works here you might need to refresh or something
Just a note: you seem to be doing this alot ""\"" all you need is \"" an escaped quote and then a quote to exit out of the string, what you were doing with ""\"" is exiting then entering back into the string THEN escaping a quote and exiting again
echo "<a href=""\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
is bad
echo "<a href=\"".$_SERVER['$PHP_SELF']."?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
is good
filburt1
05-05-2003, 07:59 PM
It's not $_SERVER['$PHP_SELF'], it's $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'].
webhost
05-06-2003, 12:07 AM
That is what I have can someone around here tell me how to fix the font and footer problem please/.
webhost
05-06-2003, 12:11 AM
Ok here is the file it is included in faq1.php as a include file.
http://www.realwebhost.net/faq1.php go there and click on one you will see the problem.
<?php
$dbi= mysql_connect('localhost','user','pass');
mysql_select_db('dbname');
$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt = "SELECT cid,cname FROM faq_categories1 WHERE cid IN (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,2 0,21,22,23,24)";
$sql_get_faq_categories1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_categories1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_categories1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_categories1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
echo("<link href=\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\" />");
if (!$cid) {
$cid=1;
}
while (list($cid,$cname)=mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_ca tegories1))
{
echo "<a href=\"" . $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'] . "?cid=$cid\">$cname</a><br>";
}// done topics so now display question
if ((int)$_REQUEST['cid']>0)
{
$cid = $_GET['cid']; // <<< --- ADDDED
$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt = "SELECT fid,cid,question,answer,timestamp FROM faq_questions1 WHERE cid = $cid ";
$sql_get_faq_questions1 = mysql_query($sql_get_faq_questions1_txt);
if (!$sql_get_faq_questions1)
die ("Error displaying information. Please report this information to the administrator -- ".$sql_get_faq_questions1_txt . " - " . mysql_error());
echo "<table cellpadding=\"0\" cellspacing=\"0\" border=\"0\" align=\"center\" width=\"100%\">";
while(list($fid,$cid,$question,$answer,$timestamp) =mysql_fetch_row($sql_get_faq_questions1))
{
echo "<tr>
<td valign=\"top\">
<table>
<tr>
<td>
Q: $question
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 border=0 align=center width=100%>
<tr>
<td valign=top>
<table>
<tr>
<td>
A:$answer
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>";
}
echo "</table>";
} // end questions
?>
Erwin
05-06-2003, 07:17 AM
This should be an easy fix. You posted this in your first post:
echo "<link href=""\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\">
You are missing a " at the end of that line, plus some additional "'s - it should look like this:
echo "<link href=\"/base.css\" rel=\"stylesheet\" type=\"text/css\">"
Try that and see...
webhost
05-06-2003, 09:05 AM
not easy as you think when i make the change you requested I lose all my categories. Sorry
@Erwin it was a multi-line echo, if you look down farther you'll see where it ended
webhost
05-07-2003, 10:35 PM
can anyone help with this?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.