PDA

View Full Version : Need help populating a table


leviw
03-21-2003, 06:25 PM
I'd like to make a table populated from a database query.

I'd like the table to be about 5 collums wide, and as many rows as it takes. The problem is, I dont know how to do it.

Right now I run the query and have a foreach() statement set up, which of course produces one result per run. I assume I need to do an if($i=0; $i >=4; $i++) statement to limit the width of the table, but I'm having trouble getting the syntax right.

Any suggestions would be fantastic, I'm obviously new to php but know there must be an easy way to do this. Its difficult to ask for what you want when you dont know what its called. :cross-eyed:

Thanks in advance.

Overgrow
03-23-2003, 12:46 PM
You need to know how many columns in your table before you attempt to make it. Then print the first opening lines of your table out before you start to loop through the results.

echo "<table><tr><td> col 1 </td><td> col 2 </td><td> col 3 </td><td> col 4 </td></tr>";

while ($row = mysql_fetch_array ($dbresults) ) {

echo "<tr><td> data </td><td> data </td><td> data </td><td> data </td></tr>";

} // close while

echo "</table>";

leviw
03-23-2003, 04:05 PM
Thanks for the help, I ended up going with this:


<table openers above>
$i = 0;
while ($line = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC)) {
if ($i >= 5) {
print "</tr><tr>";
$i = 0;
}
printf ("<td><img src=%s><br>%s</td>", $line['filename'],$line['filename']);
$i = $i + 1;
}
<table closers below>