PDA

View Full Version : A quick question for yall.


Radon3k
01-24-2003, 06:18 AM
When you install vBulletin, and you go to step 2, 3, etc, at the top it says "install.php?s=step=2" or something like that.

How is this done? I'm creating something for my site and this is exactly what I need done so that I don't have to have a million different files for each thing.

Thanks :)

Xenon
01-24-2003, 11:25 AM
its just a link to install.php?s=&step=2

and in the php file it's just a condition if $step==2...

Radon3k
01-24-2003, 04:22 PM
Right but how do you declare step 2 and such?

Xenon
01-24-2003, 09:36 PM
as stated above: with the url!

Radon3k
01-24-2003, 10:35 PM
I'm tired so I think I'm missing this...

So when someone clicks a link or a button then you put an if condition in there that makes it go to the next part? Ahh.../me confused. Sorry.

Radon3k
01-24-2003, 11:57 PM
Ahh ok I see now. I'm just really tired, sorry.

Ok now that I got that part working, how do I clear the rest of it?Meaning all it says is

"Step 2" as a link. You click on it, then it says

"Step 2this is step 2".

I want the "Step 2" to disappear.

Sorry for the confusion, and thanks for the help! :)

mr e
01-25-2003, 05:20 AM
you'd do


if ($step == 1) {
//Do step one code;
$step = 2;
}

if ($step == 2) {
//Do step two code;
$step = 3;
}

etc...


sorry if this isn't what you wanted...it's late

Radon3k
01-25-2003, 05:42 AM
Well that's sort of what I want. Another problem I'm having is that I want to update the stuff by templates and not by PHP files.

Thanks :)

Xenon
01-25-2003, 10:57 AM
just create new templates and call emfrom within the php file as all vbfiles work :)