View Full Version : SORT - ORDER BY , more than one ?
fla5h
01-18-2003, 06:12 PM
Is it possible in a query to sort by more than one value ?
I wanted to edit the sort by order options in the forumdisplay
so that when I sort by user name it will sort by username but also then sort them into the date of last post.
Is this possible ?
:rambo:
Xenon
01-18-2003, 06:31 PM
ORDER BY username, dateline DESC
the priority is from left to right :)
fla5h
01-18-2003, 07:54 PM
nice one Xenon, can you possibly help me further I am have problems doing what I want.
I wanted to make a link on the forum threads ( in the forumdisplay ) so that users can click on them and sort them in set order.
Ie a link next to the thread starters name that when pressed sorts the posts in that thread but also sorts them in the order of lastpost.
So the link I have tried is
/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=$forumid&sortfield=postusername,%20lastpost&sortorder=asc
It dont work, so I tried this
/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=$forumid&sortfield=test&sortorder=asc
then in forumdisplay found
switch ($sortfield) {
case 'title':
case 'lastpost':
case 'replycount':
case 'views':
case 'postusername':
case 'voteavg':
And added
case 'test':
after it, and found
if ($sortfield=="voteavg" and !$foruminfo[allowratings]) {
$sortfield="lastpost";
}
and added after it
if ($sortfield=="test"){
$sortfield="postusername, lastpost";
}
I get the error
Parse error: parse error, unexpected ',', expecting ']' in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\request\forumdisplay.php (702) : eval()'d code on line 1
It dont seem to work even with the error there ?
Can you point me in the direction as to what I need to change ?
Thanks :)
Xenon
01-18-2003, 09:05 PM
put if ($sortfield=="test"){
$sortfield="postusername, lastpost";
} after that:
$sort = array();
$sort[$sortfield]='selected';
i think you've had it before an that made the problem..
why dont you try forumdisplay.php?sortfield=username,lastpost&order=asc
then change in the query
$DB_site->query("SELECT blank FROM blank ORDER by $sortfield $order")
that should work i think
Xenon
01-18-2003, 09:11 PM
@mr_e: it wouldn work because of this switch case:switch ($sortfield) {
but then couldn't he eliminate the switch all i thought the switch did was switch it between different querys, so it'd perform one query instead of another...that's what i thought anyway
fla5h
01-18-2003, 10:23 PM
thanks once again it works fine, one problem I'm getting the following error at the top
Parse error: parse error, unexpected ',', expecting ']' in C:\Network\Apache2\htdocs\request\forumdisplay.php (705) : eval()'d code on line 1
Any ideas ?
what's line 705 and probably a few lines before and after
fla5h
01-19-2003, 08:38 AM
line 705 is
eval("\$sortarrow[$sortfield] = \"".gettemplate('forumdisplay_sortarrow')."\";");
The rest above is unhacked / unaltered.
If i "//" out the eval the error disappears.
Xenon
01-19-2003, 09:18 AM
hmm, add before this line this one:
if ($sortfield == 'postusername, lastpost') $sortfield='test';
fla5h
01-25-2003, 08:18 PM
Sorry for not getting back to you sooner Xenon , thanks m8, worked a treat :D
Xenon
01-26-2003, 10:16 AM
:)
good to hear :)
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.