PDA

View Full Version : help - this produces a blank page..


N!ck
06-06-2002, 05:26 PM
help...this produces a blank page, even though i've made the templates...


<?
chdir("../forums");
require("global.php");
$cats = $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM classified_cat WHERE parent = '0' ORDER BY displayorder, title");
while ($cat = $DB_site->fetch_array($cats)) {
eval("\$catbit .= \"".gettemplate("classifieds_indexbit_level1")."\";");
$subcats = $DB_site->query("SELECT * FROM classified_cat WHERE parent = '".$cat[id]."' ORDER BY displayorder, name");
while ($subcat = $DB_site->fetch_array($subcats)) {
eval("\$catbit .= \"".gettemplate("classifieds_indexbit_level2")."\";");
}
}
echo $catbit;
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("classifieds_index")."\");");
?>

Admin
06-06-2002, 07:12 PM
Let's start by removing echo $catbit;

N!ck
06-06-2002, 07:35 PM
that was stupid...:/ wonder where i pulled that out of

N!ck
06-06-2002, 07:36 PM
k, still blank page

Logician
06-06-2002, 10:46 PM
Best debug practise: (in non-visual languages)
1- Put a lot of echo "came here ..." lines in-line and see what part of your code is not parsed..

2- Put echo '$variable='.$variable; lines in your code to see what your variable values are when it runs..

It will help you so much to understand which line has a problem in your code.

N!ck
06-07-2002, 12:34 AM
tried it