View Full Version : Time
I want to use an if statement like this
if ($action==time) {
eval (blah blah) for 6 hours;
}
i know theres time but ii dunno how to use it...
so if i want an action to do something for a certain amount of time what do i do?
Mark Hensler
05-15-2002, 05:21 PM
I'm not quite sure what you want.
Do you want to adjust the timeout setting?
i want to say like.... if $away=1 then bla blah....
but i want to program that
if ($action=="away") {
$away=1 for 6 hours
}
i just need to be able to have it changed for 6 hours.. then after that time its changed back
Mark Hensler
05-16-2002, 05:28 AM
You want a variable to have a value for 6 hours?
Why?
That won't do you any good unless you've got this one script running for that long (like a shell script, or daemon).
If you want to change the configuration of a program globally, try setting a flag in a database with a timestamp for it to revert. Everytime you access the flag in the DB, check the timestamp. If time()==timestamp, then revert the flag.
umm i dont understand that...
but... hmm
lets say i wanted a user away kind of thing
so if the user clicks this "I'm away button" there account would be inaccessible for like 6 hours
tubedogg
05-18-2002, 10:05 AM
You would have to store the time somewhere, e.g. in a database, then check it against the current time.$then = time() + ($hours*60*60); // figure out what time they're returning
$DB_site->query("INSERT INTO time (time) VALUES ($then)"); // put it in the db
// grab their return time in both timestamp and human-readable
$time = $DB_site->query("SELECT time,FROM_UNIXTIME(time) AS returns FROM time");
if (time() < $time['time']) {
// user is away - show when they'll be back
echo "User is away and will return at " . $time['returns'] .".";
} else {
//user is not away
"User is present";
}or something like that.
See?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.