View Full Version : Using if Condition in Forum Option
Dr.CustUmz
02-22-2022, 05:58 AM
I am trying to make a product that will give me a different header based on the forum I am in, that's no problem and complete. My issue lays with using template conditionals inside of said option.
I am currently using a forum option to insert my custom template additions:
158950
In global complete I am using:
global $vbulletin;
if ($GLOBALS[foruminfo]["forumid"]>0) {
$forum_code = '';
$_fid = $GLOBALS[foruminfo]["forumid"];
$forum_info = $vbulletin->forumcache[$_fid];
if ($forum_info["code"]) {
$forum_code = $forum_info["code"];
} elseif ($forum_info["parentid"]) {
while ($forum_code=='' && $forum_info["parentid"]>0) {
$forum_info = $vbulletin->forumcache[$forum_info["parentid"]];
$forum_code = $forum_info["code"];
}
}
}
Then I place $forum_code into my header
I would like to be able to get the conditionals to work so I can only show things to members or usergroups within the header. Is there a way to get the variable to not ignore the conditions? they are included in the DB entry, just being ignored when rendered to the page.
lange
02-22-2022, 11:46 AM
I am trying to make a product that will give me a different header based on the forum I am in, that's no problem and complete...
Hello Dr.CustUmz
Glad to see you still here. You should upgrade to vB5, I made the jump and I don't regret it anymore even though my version vB 3.8.11 still runs on a domain name. The customization possibilities are also numerous but they are different. The big advantage of Vb5 is a better usability of posting topics and the different layouts that allow you to add even more content to a forum if you know what content to add. Conditionals can of course also be used on this content.
I know you have completed your work and want to do this to deliver a product. So I'm not a coder and I don't know your way of proceeding but the goal of changing the header per forum was achieved on my version vB 3.8.11 simply by copying and pasting the content of the header into the Forumdisplay template and using common conditionals on forums and user groups. vB 3.8.11 is a fast forum, you can do it like this.
You can even go further by dynamically changing the header per forum on each page load i.e. three different headers per forum for example by using this PHP function:
$safe_functions[] = 'rand'; <if condition="rand(0, 1)">
content1
<else />
<if condition="rand(0, 1)">
content2
<else />
content3
</if>
</if>
I do the same thing on vB5 but I proceed differently.
Dr.CustUmz
02-22-2022, 02:09 PM
Glad someone familiar is still around lol, but I'm going to hold my ground on vb3 =P
I do agree the simplest way would be to directly edit the template and create conditions per forumid, but once / if I can achieve what I am trying to do then it would be even easier, and ALOT cleaner way of doing so. Basically the new header (per forum) would be stored in the variable $foruminfo[drc_head], and you would never need to touch the templates.
I do have it working properly already in that sense, where in each forums settings (forum manager) all I need to do is put my custom HTML for that forum, the only issue is I can't use conditionals, say... hide this link from this usergroup within that code.
I'm not sure how likely I would actually need to use a conditional within a forums header, but I'd like to have the ability to if the need arises, as my headers (per forum) will be pretty complex.
Main Header:
158951
Sample Forum Header:
158952
lange
02-22-2022, 08:10 PM
I am trying to make a product
You should upgrade your wonderful product [DRC] - Currently Active Avatars to vB5.6.6/PHP 8. I would buy it for sure. :up:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=322378
puertoblack2003
02-25-2022, 03:06 PM
You should upgrade your wonderful product [DRC] - Currently Active Avatars to vB5.6.6/PHP 8. I would buy it for sure. :up:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=322378
I currently have v2.0, not sure where i got it. my server got corrupted about a year ago and lost the vb forum and database. if Dr.CustUmz gives me permission i can send it to you.
never mind i just seen you on vb5
Dr.CustUmz
02-26-2022, 03:26 AM
I think I gave you a pre release of v2, I'm just getting back into things but will be updating everything. including vb3 to php 8 =)
lange
02-26-2022, 03:31 PM
... if Dr.CustUmz gives me permission i can send it to you.
never mind i just seen you on vb5
I am on vB 3.8.11/ PHP7.4.x too.
Anyway, thank you Puertoblack2003 but as you can see on the following screenshot, I have an alternative since yesterday ... so I'm less interested in this product under vB5.
For vB 3.8.X under PHP 8, I'm not interested if there is a tracking, if the version is not 100% responsive and if the addons do not work under PHP 8. My version 3.8.11 is currently 100% responsive...
So I don't expect to run vB 3.8.11 and vB5 Connect at the same time within one or two years maximum. vB5 will be much more interesting than vB 3.8x in the next months. This is already the case for me right now...
puertoblack2003
02-26-2022, 04:10 PM
I think I gave you a pre release of v2, I'm just getting back into things but will be updating everything. including vb3 to php 8 =)
cool, can't wait. I don't mind giving vb a second go around :up:
lange
02-26-2022, 04:26 PM
cool, can't wait. I don't mind giving vb a second go around :up:
My vB 3.8.x version is 300% customized. I am at 200% with vB5 Connect 5.6.6 / PHP 8 and the look is already better.
I saw your Xenforo forum, it is great but vB5 does it and goes even further as I mentioned above. Everything is possible under vB5 as on vB 3.8.x but you have to get out of the canned vB5 version otherwise it's not visually interesting.
Dr.CustUmz
02-26-2022, 04:30 PM
this thread got wayy de railed, but since I already figured out a solution (and released the product) ill roll with it lol.
lange, not sure what addon you are using, but v2 is actually a little cooler ;)
https://i.imgur.com/eHL7U9p.png
as for using vb3.8.11 on php 7.4, you should upgrade to my 3.8.14, which fixes a lot of 3.8.11 obsolete coding and adds newer version of some features.
I am working on loads of things, but one thing I do plan on is making the default theme fully responsive. not having a separate "mobile" theme like vb4 (it's kind of pointless) responsive is the only way to go.
as for addons, i cant update EVERY addon to be compatible with php 8. That is just Ludacris, but developers will have the ability to update if they so wish. And I will update some. I dont understand when you say "im not interested if there is a tracking" if you're referring to the way my products install and report the install to https://dirtrif.com/installs.php, my vBulletin 3.8.14 installs clean just with upgraded files and features.
vb3 is the only vBulletin worth a damn to me personally, and if I were going to switch I would use xF before using vb4 or vb5. Which I have a license for as well, and have tried, and although pretty cool with the features, vb3 is still where I want to be =)
There is no feature vb4, vb5 or even xF has, that can not be done with vb3. If you look at my site (albeit still working on things) I more features than that of any of the aforementioned. My navbar is a HUGE product, that I am debating with myself to release or not, but the options for it are CRAZY. featuring things like link management for my top links, social links, the user menu links, and the navbar links, as well as instant notifications that offer instant replies within the drop down, and so much more.
With all the work I have put into vb3, its not something I will migrate from anytime soon.
lange
02-26-2022, 05:28 PM
this thread got wayy de railed, but since I already figured out a solution (and released the product) ill roll with it lol.
Sorry, let's get off track then, maybe this will be instructive for everyone.
v2 is actually a little cooler ;) Yes a little cooler. That's why I suggested you to port it to vB 5.6.6 / PHP 8. I will buy it. :)
one thing I do plan on is making the default theme fully responsive. not having a separate "mobile" theme like vb4 (it's kind of pointless) responsive is the only way to go.- My 300% customized vB 3.8.x version doesn't have a separate mobile style. The style has been 100% mobile for 3 years now and is based on Sultantheme's vB3 Responsive style (https://www.sultantheme.com/product/st-vb3-responsive/). I customized everything from this style which was already responsive. I bought it on the Sultantheme website three years ago.
as for using vb3.8.11 on php 7.4, you should upgrade to my 3.8.14, which fixes a lot of 3.8.11 obsolete coding and adds newer version of some features. My vB version is actually a 3.8.14 version with many bugs fixed by a coder excepted an issue with emails. I think you also have issues with the emails. Did you fix the following email issue at https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=328659
There is no feature vb4, vb5 or even xF has, that can not be done with vb3.You don't know what you are missing by not using vB5 then. :D
Dr.CustUmz
02-26-2022, 05:38 PM
you know thats me xD =P TheLastBatman, I dont think I ever addressed the email issue, ill look into it though.
Ill play around with v5 and php 8 in the next few days
Im also fully responsive, and further responsive than any sultanthemes theme, I have over 143 (thats just whats in the style manager) custom templates all converted to bootstrap. the shitty thing is, any product I use, I have to completely re code with how custom my style is. Thats why I tend to just make my own mods which never get released.
lange
02-26-2022, 05:48 PM
To be clear, I'm not questioning your coding skills. You are a very good coder even an excellent coder. Your work proves it.
Just that I no longer agree with you on the vB3 vs vB5 since I pushed the customization possibilities of vB5. I then realized that vB5 was a more complete, capable, modern forum than vB3.
Dr.CustUmz
02-26-2022, 05:58 PM
To be clear, I'm not questioning your coding skills. You are a very good coder even an excellent coder. Your work proves it.
Just that I no longer agree with you on the vB3 vs vB5 since I pushed the customization possibilities of vB5. I then realized that vB5 was a more complete, capable, modern forum than vB3.
well message me a demo i can see lol, i want to check it out =P
My main work is actually construction, I just do this stuff when Im able cause in a sense it's still, building lol
lange
02-26-2022, 06:14 PM
A demo of what? There is a demo you can try. It is available somewhere on the vBulletin.com site.
My forum is private hidden behind placeholders so there's not much to see. I prefer not to give the link for all kinds of reasons but I don't hesitate to give screenshots if necessary. I also left a topic to share the postbits but it seems people are more interested in taking than sharing.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=328873
Dr.CustUmz
02-26-2022, 06:46 PM
becuase all the developers have moved to xenforo lol, only people left here are the leachers and pretty much yilmaz and I for the developers. It's sad how much vB has crumbled (from a developer standpoint) but i gave xF a chance and I just cant leave my vB.
if youre wanting a more active vB community, https://vbsupport.org is more active.
lange
02-26-2022, 07:10 PM
I know the reason for the move. It's sad. You forgot Glenn and he is a very good developer. https://vbmods.rocks/ Sorry, I don't understand the Russian language.
I tested the trial version of XF 10 months ago just to see if I could achieve two things what I'm doing with vBulletin. I even asked a question in their pre-sales forum and no, Xenforo is not able to do what vBulletin does by default. You have to use an addon and this addon is not complete even useless for me.
.
.
lange
03-03-2022, 03:40 PM
A demo of what? There is a demo you can try. It is available somewhere on the vBulletin.com site.
My forum is private hidden behind placeholders so there's not much to see. I prefer not to give the link for all kinds of reasons but I don't hesitate to give screenshots if necessary. I also left a topic to share the postbits but it seems people are more interested in taking than sharing.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=328873
I posted this screenshot a few minutes ago. This gives a small overview of what vB 5 Connect can do under PHP 8.
Sorry, it's in my first language.
https://forum.vbulletin.com/forum/vbulletin-5-connect/vbulletin-5-connect-questions-problems-troubleshooting/vbulletin-5-support-issues-questions/4467516-media-photos-re-use-in-a-module?p=4467623#post4467623
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.