View Full Version : How to use the built in username autofill in templates
Necrophyte
11-28-2016, 06:07 PM
I see that this is the input in the template [search_config].
<input type="text" name="searchFields[author]" class="searchFields_author textbox" />
How can I get the username autofiller to work on another input?
I haven't found anywhere in that template that it calls any scripts.
I need to get it to work with:
<input type='text' name='friend_name' id='friend_name' class='searchFields_author textbox'>
Dragonsys
11-29-2016, 12:25 PM
it uses search.php. You won't find a reference to the php file in the template, it works the other way around.
noypiscripter
11-30-2016, 03:46 PM
vB5 uses jQuery UI Autocomplete plugin for autocomplete functionality and it's wrapped in vBulletin_Autocomplete function.
Try this for a start:
var userAutocomplete = new vBulletin_Autocomplete($('.friend_name'), {
apiClass: "user"
});
There are many other options to vBulletin_Autocomplete. Just look it up in the code.
Necrophyte
12-02-2016, 04:43 PM
Glenn,
Thanks for the point in the right direction. Tried this in a template with below code and isn't working. Keep getting 'vBulletin_Autocomplete is undefined' in console. Tried adding sb_search.js, and search-rollup-525. But nothing coming up still. Did a search for "function vBulletin_Autocomplete" and came up empty. Checked the Api for it as well and came up with nothing. I gotta be missing something.
There is the <form> stuff too but I only posted what was relevant.
{vb:js js/autocomplete.js}
<input type='text' name='friend_name' id='friend_name' class='searchFields_author textbox'>
<script>
var userAutocomplete = new vBulletin_Autocomplete($('.friend_name'), {
apiClass: "user"
});
</script>
noypiscripter
12-02-2016, 05:47 PM
friend_name is the id of the input and not a class name. Change it to $('#friend_name')
And change {vb:js} include to:
{vb:js insert_here, js/autocomplete.js}
Necrophyte
12-02-2016, 11:49 PM
Ok after some toying with it, I realized I needed to add jQuery js and the UI js as well.
But this works now. The css is off, but I can deal with/fix that.
Thank you once again sir!
I never would have guessed/figured out the insert_here part. If you do it without the insert_here it takes whatever name you put as ok.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.