Log in

View Full Version : Disable signatures in certain forums


kerrghann
05-25-2016, 02:45 AM
I would like to disable signatures in certain forums, I attempted to add this to my postbit_legacy (of which my forum is set to use) but I may be doing it wrong. I have tried two methods:


This one

<vb:if condition="$post['signature'] AND $GLOBALS[forumid] != 421 || 578 || 680 || 638 || 597 || 36 || 246 || 247 || 490 || 250 || 531 || 748 || 742 || 740 || 744 || 129 || 769 || 772 || 770 || 771 || 691 || 711 || 712 || 713 || 714 || 715 || 716 || 696 || 717 || 718 || 719 || 750 || 751 || 752 || 753 || 754 || 779 || 720 || 778 || 721 || 722 || 723 || 763 || 767 || 764 || 765 || 776 || 777">
<!-- sig -->
<blockquote class="signature restore"><div class="signaturecontainer">{vb:raw post.signature}</div></blockquote>
</vb:if>



And This One

<vb:if condition="$post['signature'] AND $GLOBALS[forumid] != 421,578,680,638,597,36,246,247,490,250,531,748,742 ,740,744,129,769,772,770,771,691,711,712,713,714,7 15,716,696,717,718,719,750,751,752,753,754,779,720 ,778,721,722,723,763,767,764,765,776,777">
<!-- sig -->
<blockquote class="signature restore"><div class="signaturecontainer">{vb:raw post.signature}</div></blockquote>
</vb:if>


Neither seem to be working. Signatures show up in all forums.

NOTE: I have also cleared cache and used the maintenance tool for emptying signature cache.

cellarius
05-25-2016, 04:34 AM
You can't chain conditions like that in PHP. Template conditions are basically transferred to PHP, so its basic rules apply.

You either need to do
$GLOBALS[forumid] != 1 AND $GLOBALS[forumid] != 2 AND $GLOBALS[forumid] != 3
and so on. More elegant:

<if condition="i$post['signature'] AND !in_array($GLOBALS['forumid'], array(1,2,3))">

BTW: OR condition will not work when adding up negative conditions. If you do "not in 1 OR not in 2 OR not in 3", then the condition will always be true. If it is 1, it is not 2 or 3, and if its 2, it's not 1 or 3.

kerrghann
05-25-2016, 10:39 AM
Hmm. But for the second php code bit, the condition is saying AND. Wouldn't i essentially need to make that AND NOT?

MarkFL
05-25-2016, 10:52 AM
What I would do is create a plugin hooked at "postbit_display_complete" with the code:

if (in_array($forum['forumid'], array(421,578,680,638,597,36,246,247,490,250,531,7 48,742,740,744,129,769,772,770,771,691,711,712,713 ,714,715,716,696,717,718,719,750,751,752,753,754,7 79,720,778,721,722,723,763,767,764,765,776,777)))
{
$post['signature'] = '';
}

The advantage to using a plugin vs. a template edit is that it will work for all styles and will work whether you use "postbit" or "postbit_legacy" and it can easily be enabled/disabled. :)

cellarius
05-25-2016, 11:23 AM
Hmm. But for the second php code bit, the condition is saying AND. Wouldn't i essentially need to make that AND NOT?

Sorry, typo. It needs to be !in_array (note the !).

--------------- Added 1464182800 at 1464182800 ---------------

What I would do is create a plugin hooked at "postbit_display_complete" with the code:

if (in_array($forum['forumid'], array(421,578,680,638,597,36,246,247,490,250,531,7 48,742,740,744,129,769,772,770,771,691,711,712,713 ,714,715,716,696,717,718,719,750,751,752,753,754,7 79,720,778,721,722,723,763,767,764,765,776,777)))
{
$post['signature'] = '';
}

The advantage to using a plugin vs. a template edit is that it will work for all styles and will work whether you use "postbit" or "postbit_legacy" and it can easily be enabled/disabled. :)
You're absloutely right. Although I'd do
$show['signature'] = false;
inside the condition. But that's nitpicking.

kerrghann
05-25-2016, 12:50 PM
Thanks guys. This solved my problem. The hook definitely made this quick and painless. Much appreciated.

MarkFL
05-25-2016, 01:31 PM
...You're absloutely right. Although I'd do
$show['signature'] = false;
inside the condition. But that's nitpicking.

Good call...if I had noticed that, I would have suggested it as well. :)