PDA

View Full Version : vb5 Widget Creation


twistsol
04-02-2016, 07:37 PM
Is there any documentation on creating a Widget/Module for vb5? If not, can anyone give me a hint as to where to start?

Lynne
04-02-2016, 08:25 PM
Exactly what are you asking about here - about how to write the code in a product to create a module? Or how to code a php module?

twistsol
04-02-2016, 11:59 PM
I've been through the article below on creating a vb5 product and it makes sense:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/blogs/joe-d/3932614-

What I'm trying to do is create a widget that can be used with Sitebuilder that has settings etc. Using a PHP widget is easy enough but I need to be able to change the behavior based on what page it is being called from, and I'd rather not hard code into the PHP the settings by page but rather set them when I place the widget on the page.

For the code it appears that I should be able to simply extend the widget class. Where my confusion comes in is how to create the widget itself.

DemOnstar
04-03-2016, 04:46 AM
For the code it appears that I should be able to simply extend the widget class. Where my confusion comes in is how to create the widget itself.

To my knowledge, the widget/module is created in site builder.
Login, choose Edit Site on > Edit Page > Add Modules...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154625&stc=1&d=1459665841

Choose the module by dragging it into position.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154624&stc=1&d=1459665771

Edit/configure the module as necessary...

Save page. . .

Or I may be hugely mistaken by a gross misinterpretation of what it is exactly you need.......?

twistsol
04-03-2016, 01:53 PM
To my knowledge, the widget/module is created in site builder.
Login, choose Edit Site on > Edit Page > Add Modules...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154625&stc=1&d=1459665841

Choose the module by dragging it into position.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/attachment.php?attachmentid=154624&stc=1&d=1459665771

Edit/configure the module as necessary...

Save page. . .

Or I may be hugely mistaken by a gross misinterpretation of what it is exactly you need.......?

I know how to add a module to a page. What I'm trying to do is create a custom module with customer settings. If I use the PHP module, there is no place in the PHP module to have my custom settings, which relegates me to putting them in the code. I can't use product settings because they are global and the module settings need to be different based on which page they appear.

Dead Eddie
04-03-2016, 03:39 PM
Here's a module that I put together a few years ago. It's relatively basic, you can probably reverse engineer it.

Developer support of VB5 is...anemic at best.

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost.php?p=2514295&postcount=6

noypiscripter
04-23-2016, 04:35 AM
Nice work there Dead Eddie. :up:

You could have used the wol API and call the fetchAll() method to get the latest online users.