PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting the thread preview content...


darnoldy
07-03-2015, 07:20 PM
Okay, what I'm talking about is what shows in the tooltip when you mouseOver the thread title in any threadbit.

In the ACP, there is a setting that allows me to specify how many characters will be displayed (the first X characters of the OP in the thread).

I would like to be able to mark, within the message, a specific range of text to be used—maybe by using a bbcode tag. Does this seem doable?

kh99
07-11-2015, 10:47 AM
Sorry for the late reply. It does sound doable, the question is if it could be done with plugins or if you need to change code. I think it currently creates a plain text version of the message, then just takes the first X characters of it. So if you found where that was done, you could first check the message for your bbcode and use that text if it exists.

In includes/functions_forumdisplay.php, in function process_thread_array(), there's this code:

else if (isset($thread['preview']) AND $vbulletin->options['threadpreview'] > 0)
{
$thread['preview'] = strip_quotes($thread['preview']);
$thread['preview'] = htmlspecialchars_uni(fetch_censored_text(fetch_tri mmed_title(
strip_bbcode($thread['preview'], false, true),
$vbulletin->options['threadpreview']
)));
}


which is I believe where the text is created that is used as the tooltip, so if you wanted to edit that file you could do it there. You might also be able to use a plugin on hook threadbit_process (which is called at the end of that function) and just recalculate $thread['preview'] (assuming all the info you need still exists at that point, I'm not sure).

Searching the code for threadpreview (the name of the option that specifies how many characters long the preview should be), I see it being used in a number of other places, so it's possible that you'd need to do it in more than one place.

darnoldy
07-13-2015, 02:41 PM
Thanks, Kevin!

It looks like (and my php sux, so I could be wrong) the function
strip_bbcode strips out all of the bbcodes before doing anything else, so using the hook might be tricky.

The function, fetch_trimmed_title seems to be doing the tooltip string building. I think I'd need to write an alternative function (since fetch_trimmed_title is used elsewhere for other things) to call in that spot.

Since, in this case, I am creating all of these posts, I don't really need fetch_censored_text?there won't be any.

I need to think about this some more.