PDA

View Full Version : using gigya with vbulletin


itayKinnrot
11-29-2014, 07:49 PM
Hi,

currently im using gigya user management for my blog (wordpress) and want to use it also for my vbulletin forum.
i consider using vbsso to connect wordpress with vbulletin. anyone tried it? any suggestions?

gigya has the ability to connect any PHP platform with include_once "./GSSDK.php";
http://developers.gigya.com/030_Server_SDKs/PHP#Sending_a_Request
where should i put this code to load gigya in vbulletin?

thanks,
Dooby

ozzy47
11-29-2014, 07:55 PM
I have not seen anything like that. Someone asked about this almost four years ago and no one had a solution then either, https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=257876&highlight=gigya

itayKinnrot
11-30-2014, 05:10 AM
Hi,

Gigya, is the biggest SAAS company for site and social identity management.
i will deal with it. just need to know where and how should i add this:
include_once "./GSSDK.php";

this allow me to add gigya js to vbulletin and call API calls.

thanks,
Dooby

kh99
11-30-2014, 08:10 AM
You could use a plugin, and use hook location global_start or init_startup. The right hook might depend on exactly what you need to do, but you could try those to start. If you do that, that script will be included on every vbulletin request. That might add a lot of overhead depending on what happens in that script. You might instead want to just use an "include_once" wherever you need to use the api.

ozzy47
11-30-2014, 09:18 AM
You shouldn't be using the global_start hook, but use the global_bootstrap_init_start hook instead, as the global_start hook is depreciated.

kh99
11-30-2014, 09:28 AM
While it's true that the use of global_start was deprecated, development of vb4 is done except for minor fixes and php version upgrades, so I think it's pretty clear at this point that it will never be removed. It would be ridiculous at this point to release a new version of vb4 with that hook removed.

Also, hook global_bootstrap_init_start is called inside a function, and that could have an effect on how the script works, depending on what it does.

ozzy47
11-30-2014, 09:38 AM
I think that is true Kevin, as I still use that hook. :) But I just wanted to point it out just in case.

itayKinnrot
11-30-2014, 04:32 PM
thanks,
i need a little bit more explanation on how using the hook global_bootstrap_init_start hook.
the main use for this plugin is to login with social network to vbulletin.

Dooby

ozzy47
11-30-2014, 04:46 PM
You asked how to include, include_once "./GSSDK.php";

Kevin told you what hook to use. To do that you need to go to Plugins & Products --> Plugin Manager and add a new plugin.

As far as incorporating it into vBulletin beyond that, read the documentation. If you do not understand what to do, you will probably have to pay someone to integrate it into vBulletin for you.

kh99
11-30-2014, 04:53 PM
thanks,
i need a little bit more explanation on how using the hook global_bootstrap_init_start hook.
the main use for this plugin is to login with social network to vbulletin.

Dooby

How do you intend to use it? You're going to write some php code, right? I think I would just start that code with the include_once statement. Or are you asking where you can put your php code to use that api for login? That would be a little more complicated.

cellarius
12-01-2014, 07:16 AM
While it's true that the use of global_start was deprecated, development of vb4 is done except for minor fixes and php version upgrades, so I think it's pretty clear at this point that it will never be removed. It would be ridiculous at this point to release a new version of vb4 with that hook removed.
The hook has never been present in the CMS. So: Don't use global_start if you want something to work all across the suite.

kh99
12-01-2014, 08:05 AM
The hook has never been present in the CMS. So: Don't use global_start if you want something to work all across the suite.

Thanks, I don't know if I ever knew that.

cellarius
12-01-2014, 08:29 AM
Yeah, I remember learning it the hard way ;)

mykkal
05-06-2015, 07:13 PM
Thanks, I don't know if I ever knew that.

Did you ever get this to work? I too use gigya on wordpress and would like to use it with my vbulletin site. There is a vbulletin wordpress/integration that I believe creates an account on wordpress for vbulletin users and syncs them. Maybe that is an optional workaround. thoughts?