PDA

View Full Version : Post Quote Length Limit (vB3)


ozzy47
03-17-2014, 11:00 PM
As some of you know, when someone quotes a post, sometimes they are long posts. This can make the post hard to read, and IMO, not look as good as it can.

Sure you could limit the characters of the quote one way or another, but this is not the best approach. Someone may actually want to see all the quoted text in the post.

So I have come up with the solution, of adding a scroll bar in the quote bubble. This way you can keep the post looking neat, with out loosing functionality. So here we go wit the tutorial.

Take for example this post, [OzzModz] Classifieds (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=304635)

Now if someone were to quote that, and reply something like, " Thanks for sharing Ozzy. " the post would look bad, because the amount of info in the quote would overwhelm the reply.

So what you can do is go to your ACP --> Styles & Templates --> Style Manager, then choose Edit Templates for your style.

Now in the scroll box find, BB Code Layout Templates, then double click on that, then find bbcode_quote and double click on that.

Once inside that template, find this bit of code:

<div style="font-style:italic">$message</div>

And change it to this:
<div style="font-style:italic; max-height:300px; width:auto; overflow:auto;">$message</div>

Then click on the Save button. This will have to be done for each of your styles. :)

Now when someone quotes a post that is longer that 300px high, it will add a scroll bar inside the quote bubble. This allows anyone viewing the post, to be able to still see all the original quoted text, but without making the post longer than it needs to be. In the attached image, is this post quoted, [OzzModz] Classifieds (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=304635) but as you can see, it is much shorter.

Max Taxable
03-18-2014, 02:06 AM
Installed and tested on my v3.8.7 installations and works flawlessly.

I like a really compressed showthread page and this really helps - I used 200px instead of 300 as the setting. It's really sweet.

Thanks Ozzy!

Max Taxable
03-18-2014, 02:20 AM
U da MAN!

ozzy47
03-18-2014, 02:21 AM
Not a problem, glad to help. :)

blind-eddie
03-18-2014, 10:39 AM
This should have been a default part of vbulletin from day one. Nice edit!

ozzy47
03-18-2014, 10:48 AM
Thanks, glad you like it. I just think it makes things look much nicer. :)

Max Taxable
03-18-2014, 03:20 PM
Any way to make it not work in first post of the new thread?

ozzy47
03-19-2014, 12:20 AM
This should work, change:
<div style="font-style:italic; max-height:300px; width:auto; overflow:auto;">$message</div>

To this:
<div style="font-style:italic; <if condition="$post[postcount] > 1">max-height:300px; width:auto; overflow:auto;</if>">$message</div>

Max Taxable
03-19-2014, 12:44 AM
I gotta do that in six styles.

Am I reading that right? The <if> conditional seems to make this work ONLY on postcount 1 of a thread?

ozzy47
03-19-2014, 02:38 AM
Nope, sadly conditionals can not be used in bbcode templates like that. :(

Max Taxable
03-19-2014, 02:50 AM
Not a biggie.

blind-eddie
03-19-2014, 10:39 AM
This should work, change:
<div style="font-style:italic; max-height:300px; width:auto; overflow:auto;">$message</div>

To this:
<div style="font-style:italic; <if condition="$post[postcount] > 1">max-height:300px; width:auto; overflow:auto;</if>">$message</div>

Hey OzzY, This edit does not work at all, quoting post in threads shows all text as well as starting a thread using a quote. I switched back to the edit from first post.

ozzy47
03-19-2014, 10:41 AM
Right, as I said in post #10, conditionals can not be used in bbcode templates. :(