PDA

View Full Version : thread/post info accessing from hook, variable range, pass variable from hook to hook


create365
09-25-2013, 01:55 PM
I wanted to ask on how to complete this, as I've done this in 'ugly' way.

So, in postbit hook, there is $post available. But it doesn't contain forumid and a field from new column (added by me) in thread table - however, it is in $threadinfo variable in showthread_* hooks.

Currently, I'm using postbit_complete hook and a query to get this information. But everytime post is loaded, the query is executed and this isn't really good thing.

I want to avoid this.

So my question is that: how to access $threadinfo (or forumid and a specific field of the thread, the post is in) from postbit_complete level? Or how to pass my values from other hook (showthread_complete for example, where $threadinfo is available), to postbit_complete hook, so I can use it and not query DB for those values?

Thanks for help.

kh99
09-25-2013, 02:32 PM
You could try putting:
global $threadinfo;


at the beginning of your postbit_complete hook code.

create365
09-25-2013, 03:21 PM
Yep I know, but isn't there a better way?
Tried saving the things I need in other hook, make it global, but it didn't work.

So if I want to access options, it is normal to put global $vbulletin there, or there is another, nicer way to do that?