Log in

View Full Version : Need a fresh set of eyes to spot my error


John Lester
05-14-2013, 12:29 AM
I've been tweaking a random users widget to include more features. However I took a break after my hard drive failed and when I started working on it again, the avatars no longer show up :(

I have the avatars stored in files and not in the db. The directory and sub directories are chmoded 777. I have attached a screenshot of the avatar file storage type for reference.

Here's the widget code I'm working with.


$member_count = 8;

ob_start();
require_once('./includes/functions_user.php');
require_once('./includes/functions_bigthree.php');
// Get Featured Members
$featuredusers_get = vB::$db->query_read("
SELECT ".TABLE_PREFIX."user.userid AS userid, ".TABLE_PREFIX."user.username AS username, ".TABLE_PREFIX."user.avatarrevision AS avatarrevision, ".TABLE_PREFIX."customavatar.dateline AS dateline
FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."customavatar
LEFT JOIN ".TABLE_PREFIX."user
ON ".TABLE_PREFIX."customavatar.userid=".TABLE_PREFIX."user.userid
WHERE ".TABLE_PREFIX."customavatar.visible = 1 AND ".TABLE_PREFIX."user.usergroupid IN (2, 6, 7) AND ".TABLE_PREFIX."user.posts > 0
ORDER BY RAND()
LIMIT $member_count");
$output_bits = '<p align="left">';
while($featureduser = vB::$db->fetch_array($featuredusers_get))
{
$output_bits .= '<a href="member.php?u='.$featureduser[userid].'"><img src="/customavatars'.$featureduser[userid].'_'.$featureduser[avatarrevision].'.gif" alt="'.$featureduser[username].'"/ width="125" height="125"><br />'.$featureduser[username].'</a><br /><br />';
}
$output_bits .= '</p>';
$output = $output_bits;
ob_end_clean();

Lynne
05-14-2013, 01:06 AM
You posted the code, but what is the problem? Can we be told the problem and get a link to view it?

Max Taxable
05-14-2013, 01:16 AM
I see the avatars in threads just fine, if it's the forum you have linked in your signature.

John Lester
05-14-2013, 07:55 AM
I apologize for not being clearer.

The widget is disabled, it would show on content.php and would display a random selection of 8 "Featured Members" as long as they have an avatar and 1 post or more.

When the widget is enabled the avatars do not show in the widget, only the username which is linked to their profile is shown. I have re-enabled the widget so you can see it in (sub par) action ;) Just scroll down and it'll be on the left hand side.

Yes I ensured that my test group of members had/have an avatar.

www.braintalkcommunities.org/content.php (http://www.braintalkcommunities.org/content.php)

nhawk
05-14-2013, 02:44 PM
Try changing this part of your code...

<img src="/customavatars'.$featureduser[userid].'_'.$featureduser[avatarrevision].'.gif" alt="'.$featureduser[username].'"/ width="125" height="125">

To this..
<img src="/customavatars/avatar'.$featureduser[userid].'_'.$featureduser[avatarrevision].'.gif" alt="'.$featureduser[username].'"/ width="125" height="125">

tbworld
05-14-2013, 08:59 PM
If your still having problems try this:

<img src="./customavatars/avatar'.$featureduser[userid].'_'.$featureduser[avatarrevision].'.gif" alt="'.$featureduser[username].'" width="125" height="125">

John Lester
05-14-2013, 09:14 PM
Thank you nhawk now the avatars show up :)

tbworld
05-15-2013, 04:54 AM
The path for custom avatars is stored already. So I would use this approach instead of hard coding the path.
<img src="'.$vbulletin->options['avatarpath'].'/avatar'.$featureduser[userid].'_'.$featureduser[avatarrevision].'.gif" alt="'.$featureduser[username].'" width="125" height="125">

You do not need to include either function file. You are not using any functions from them -- at least in the code you showed us. :)

John Lester
05-15-2013, 08:16 AM
I'm just covering my butt including those functions, I'm not sure how exotic this will wind up being :D I do like your suggestion about the avatar path, would make it more versatile should I decide to release my final code :)

John Lester
06-16-2013, 08:15 PM
Using the code in the first post (with the modified and correct avatar path ty again :) ) the featured members shows different members depending on you being logged in or not. Why?

Lynne
06-17-2013, 04:48 AM
Why wouldn't it show a different set of avatars when you are ordering it by RAND()?

John Lester
06-17-2013, 05:34 AM
It's set to refresh the order every 24 hours which it appears to be doing correctly. What I find odd is that when you view the page as a guest you see "Random group A" but if you log in you see "Random group B". Log out again and you will then see "Random group A" again.

I don't see why it's showing 8 different people when I'm logged in vs when I'm logged out.

Lynne
06-17-2013, 04:06 PM
Because the widget gets cached for different usergroups.

John Lester
06-17-2013, 11:23 PM
Hmmm I had not thought of that :D Thanks Lynne :) I'll leave it as for now, if my members want it to be the same then I'll look into caching it the same for all groups.