View Full Version : Includes plugin won't work in STANDARD ERROR template
I stumped. I'm having a problem getting an includes plugin to display on the STANDARD ERROR template. The plugin works fine in every other template, but won't load for that one. Any suggs?
tbworld
04-29-2013, 06:20 AM
Cannot suggest anything without some code to look at :(
Its just a standard includes plugin similar to:
ob_start();
include('path/to/this/file/myfile.php');
$includedphp = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
The plugin works on dozens of other templates, so I am guessing that something about STANDARD_ERROR doesn't allow the use of an includes plugin for security or some other reason.
What I'm looking for is advice on including a php page on the STANDARD_ERROR template.
Thanks.
Lynne
04-30-2013, 01:54 AM
It all depends on the hook used. Did you go into debug mode and verify the plugin hook you are using is being called on that page?
Also, try using {$GLOBALS['includedphp']} in place of $includedphp (in the template)
Very interesting. The plugin was using the hook global_start, which works for every other template I've tried. Also, in debug mode when displaying the STANDARD_ERROR template, in this case, the permissions error one might see when posting a new thread while not logged on, these are the "Hooks Called" according to the debug:
init_startup
cache_permissions
fetch_foruminfo
style_fetch
cache_templates
global_start
parse_templates
global_setup_complete
newthread_start
error_nopermission
error_fetch
forumjump
navbits
navbits_complete
error_generic
What is interesting is that global_start is listed, however the plugin wouldn't work until switched to the "error_generic" hook.
Am I misinterpretting what the debug output means when it lists the hooks? Is there something funky about using the global_start hook on the STANDARD_ERROR template?
In any case, seem to have got what I need working, but a little confused about why global_start wouldn't work with this template.
Thanks Lynn and KH_99 as always for your input!
--------------- Added 1367346967 at 1367346967 ---------------
KH99. You're solution got it working with the global_start hook. Any implications to using the {$GLOBALS['include']} syntax in terms of load or security?
KH99. You're solution got it working with the global_start hook. Any implications to using the {$GLOBALS['include']} syntax in terms of load or security?
No, it's just another name for your variable. If a template is used inside a function (which apparently is true for the STANDARD_ERROR template), then you can't use global variables except through the $GLOBALS array, or by using a plugin to declare them "global". So another thing that might work would be to create another new plugin using hook error_generic and one line of code:
global $includedphp;
but as far as I know there's no difference between using that and using $GLOBALS.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.