View Full Version : Template hooks
Revelence
04-07-2013, 03:40 AM
How can I edit a template from a plugin using a template hook? Is that possible?
Lynne
04-07-2013, 03:48 AM
Have you tried reading any articles about this?
Cellarius wrote a really good article that you may be interested in - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078)
Revelence
04-07-2013, 02:08 PM
I've tried finding some tutorials on this, I don't think that's what I'm looking for. I'm trying to basically insert my variable into a template from a plugin because there's no hook spots for where I need it
Lynne
04-07-2013, 03:30 PM
You will need to register that variable for use in the template and that is what that article is about.
Revelence
04-07-2013, 04:37 PM
Yes, but I don't want to manually add the variable to the template.. I want to somehow find a way to insert it with a plugin.
Lynne
04-07-2013, 04:39 PM
You may be able to do a str_replace then.
http://php.net/manual/en/function.str-replace.php
Revelence
04-07-2013, 04:41 PM
I've tried that, but I'm stuck on actually how I'm supposed to read the template
Lynne
04-07-2013, 05:14 PM
I would suggest posting exactly what you have done (please use code tags), letting us see the result, and then we can help you out. Right now, you are being way to general for us to be of any help.
Revelence
04-07-2013, 05:20 PM
$template_hook['postbit_userinfo_start'] = str_replace("userinfo", "test", $template_hook['postbit_userinfo_start']);
I know the hook is wrong because they don't read it actually, which is what I'm needing to figure out how to do.
Lynne
04-07-2013, 05:37 PM
What plugin hook are you using?
Revelence
04-07-2013, 05:47 PM
What plugin hook are you using?
postbit_display_complete, that works, it's just I don't know how to like read the template for the str_replace so it can actually search for what i'm looking for
Lynne
04-07-2013, 06:37 PM
Assuming you are using the postbit_legacy template, something like this:
$template_hook['postbit_userinfo_start'] = str_replace("userinfo", "test", $this->registry->templatecache('postbit_legacy'));
Scanu
04-07-2013, 06:58 PM
Assuming you are using the postbit_legacy template, something like this:
$template_hook['postbit_userinfo_start'] = str_replace("userinfo", "test", $this->registry->templatecache('postbit_legacy'));
I may be wrong but shouldn't be this :rolleyes:
$this->registry->templatecache['postbit_legacy'] = str_replace("userinfo", "test", $this->registry->templatecache['postbit_legacy']);
Btw that will be a lot harder when you will be finding and replacing template codes with variables and conditions i don't know if you get what i mean, i will post an easy function that i made with codes of boofo, kh99 and mine as soon as i'll be logged from my pc
Revelence
04-07-2013, 07:34 PM
I may be wrong but shouldn't be this :rolleyes:
$this->registry->templatecache['postbit_legacy'] = str_replace("userinfo", "test", $this->registry->templatecache['postbit_legacy']);
Btw that will be a lot harder when you will be finding and replacing template codes with variables and conditions i don't know if you get what i mean, i will post an easy function that i made with codes of boofo, kh99 and mine as soon as i'll be logged from my pc
ahh, thanks man that works
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.