PDA

View Full Version : display script code in navgiation tab


Chadi
04-07-2013, 02:09 AM
I'd like to display total number of users in chat. The code is below.

<script language="javascript" src="somepath/connections.php"></script>

I want to display it (float right) in the chat tab. The chat tab is created using the default navigation manger.

See www.talkjesus.com

So it says "chat" in the green tab", I want the displayed total users displayed on the right of it like this

chad (space in middle) 10

10 = example of number of users in chat.

My question now, how can I integrate that script code so it displays in the tab specifically? I'm using amend tabid to URL too. The ID is

#tab_oda5_837


Thanks!

Chadi
04-08-2013, 12:10 PM
Just wondering if anyone can help?

kh99
04-08-2013, 12:32 PM
You should be able to edit the tab in the Navigation Manager and put your javascript code in the Title box, like maybe:

Chat <script language="javascript" src="somepath/connections.php"></script>

Chadi
04-08-2013, 01:10 PM
That doesn't work

Error: The navigation element title is invalid.

kh99
04-08-2013, 01:26 PM
OK, it turns out that error is because you can only have 50 characters in that field. So you'll have to use a plugin. Try this: create a new plugin using hook build_navigation_data and this code:


if (!defined('VB_AREA') OR VB_AREA != 'AdminCP')
{
if (is_array($navdata['tab_oda5_837']))
{
$navdata['tab_oda5_837']['text'] .= ' <script language="javascript" src="somepath/connections.php"></script>';
}
}

Chadi
04-08-2013, 01:37 PM
Doesn't output anything.

Used this (active too)

if (!defined('VB_AREA') OR VB_AREA != 'AdminCP')
{
if (is_array($navdata['tab_oda5_837']))
{
$navdata['tab_oda5_837']['text'] .= ' <script language="javascript" src="/logon_users.php"></script>';
}
}

The path and filename are right too.

kh99
04-08-2013, 01:41 PM
As a test, try changing the code like this:

$navdata['tab_oda5_837']['text'] .= ' X<script language="javascript" src="/logon_users.php"></script>';


and see if the X shows up. If it does, then the problem is your script.

You're specifying a php file as a javascript source file, so unless your logon_users.php outputs javascript code (and that code somehow displays a number), it's not going to work.

Chadi
04-08-2013, 01:41 PM
Nevermind, got it working thanks. Was missing one file.

--------------- Added 1365432155 at 1365432155 ---------------

I spoke too soon. It shows 0, even when I'm logged in.

kh99
04-08-2013, 01:50 PM
It seems like that would have to be a problem with the script you're calling.

Chadi
04-08-2013, 01:51 PM
I noticed I was missing the chat's 2 files, functions and config, which I've uploaded. However, config says

$chat_data_path = "C:/Program Files/123FlashChatServer6.9.4/server/data/default/";


Those guys installed the chat in my dedicated server's root outside my user's home directory, at
[~/TopCMM/123FlashChat9.6

What should the path be from there in config file which is placed inside my forum's root folder?

I got it displaying "0", but it stays 0 even when I was logged in chat

kh99
04-08-2013, 01:58 PM
I don't know anything about that software. But if you figure out what ~ stands for (it's your user directory) then you might be able to use that. I suppose you could try
$chat_data_path = "~/TopCMM/123FlashChat9.6/server/data/default/";


but I can't remember offhand if you're allowed to use ~ with php functions or is it only works in shell commands. And even if it does work, I'm not sure the web server is running as that same user.

Chadi
04-08-2013, 04:13 PM
Yes tried that too, didn't work

--------------- Added 1365474629 at 1365474629 ---------------

Ok.

Got the plugin working right with below

if (!defined('VB_AREA') OR VB_AREA != 'AdminCP')
{
if (is_array($navdata['tab_oda5_837']))
{
$navdata['tab_oda5_837']['text'] .= '<script language="javascript" src="http://www.talkjesus.com:35555/online.js?group=default"></script>
<script language="javascript">
document.write(""+ online.ln+"");
</script>';
}
}

But, now I want to apply some styles to the number output which is the "+ online.ln+" portion. I tried <span style="float:right">"+ online.ln+"</span> but that caused it to disappear.

I want the number output floating right with a custom background color too while the word "chat" remains floating left.

Thanks in advance

kh99
04-09-2013, 12:54 PM
It's a quote matching problem. The whole thing is already a string inside single quotes. But what you could do is put the html outside the script tags, like:

$navdata['tab_oda5_837']['text'] .= '<script language="javascript" src="http://www.talkjesus.com:35555/online.js?group=default"></script>
<span style="float:right"><script language="javascript">
document.write(""+ online.ln+"");
</script></span>';