PDA

View Full Version : AdminCP | PHP password protection using Sha1 hash


ramesh_umk3
03-31-2013, 03:22 PM
Hey friends i have been trying to integrate one of the mod called php password protection...

I have done everything correct and tested. But couldn't integrate to admincp/index.php file

if any one could make it work or help that will be a great protection to admincp from unauthorized users :up:


Download project file from attachment

Generate sha1 password here Sha1 Generator (www.mobilescommunity.com/mchash/cryptool.php)

snakes1100
03-31-2013, 03:28 PM
Why wouldnt you just use htpasswd/htaccess protection?

I see no reason to store anything in a ini file, which from the looks of the zip, its stored in the same location as everything else, even though the author claims its not readable.

That kinda defeats the purpose of protecting it.

ramesh_umk3
03-31-2013, 03:30 PM
yep i am using that too, but this sounds more protected !

snakes1100
03-31-2013, 03:59 PM
Not really, why would storing the hash in a public area be better protection?

ramesh_umk3
03-31-2013, 04:18 PM
This doesn't stores anything in a server everything is handled in a login.ini.php and it's Secured from SQL Injection and brute force too.. What else protection we need!

snakes1100
03-31-2013, 04:20 PM
That file is stored in a public area, thats not secure.

Also, it does store it ON the server, unless you some how think that your going to store that file on your computer.

quote form install:
Step 1: Upload login.php, login.ini.php, and quickprotect.class.php to your server

ramesh_umk3
03-31-2013, 05:02 PM
if thats not stored in public area how server will execute them mate ?

i know how to install ! i am seeking for someone who can integrate this module with admincp/index.php

and you might say add below lines in index.php
require_once ('./quickprotect.class.php');
$quickprotect = new quickprotect();
$quickprotect->checkLoginAndDirect();

I have tried it's doing nothing i get return error called "security token missing"

snakes1100
03-31-2013, 06:53 PM
Thats the point im making, its storing hash's in a public file, not a secure location or a good security practice.

ramesh_umk3
03-31-2013, 07:11 PM
you can read those hash's ? which are in public file of my server ?

If yes then say i can stop this project right away !!!!

Thanks :)