View Full Version : RSS feed in multiple forums
DaveNGU
03-30-2013, 12:51 AM
I want to set it up to post the RSS feed in different forums based on what category the article is posted in on our homepage..
I have an idea how to do it, I'm just struggling with even changing the RSS feed target forum in a plugin. Here's what I've tried:
global $vbulletin;
$vbulletin->GPC['forumid']) = '266';
$feeddata->set('forumid', $vbulletin->GPC['forumid']);
Tried it in rssfeeddata_start.
I don't need your help with the whole category thing, I've got an idea for that but I'd really appreciate some help with this. My idea being I test it first by just being able to set the forumid do something via a plugin, then go from there with my next idea.
Thanks
I don't quite understand what you're trying to do. Are you talking about external feeds posting to your forum, or RSS feeds from your forum? It sounds like the first one, but then I don't understand where the section stuff comes in to it (I know you said don't worry about that part, but I'm trying to understand where you'd need to make the changes).
DaveNGU
03-30-2013, 06:59 PM
I don't quite understand what you're trying to do. Are you talking about external feeds posting to your forum, or RSS feeds from your forum? It sounds like the first one, but then I don't understand where the section stuff comes in to it (I know you said don't worry about that part, but I'm trying to understand where you'd need to make the changes).
First.. basically I want to have a plugin where I can have conditions such that if the external article is in said category it will go into said forum etc. So there'll be multiple forums one external RSS feed is being posted into.
OK, then if I understand that correctly, I think the easiest thing to do (in terms of figuring out how to get it to work) would be to find the code that posts the items in threads, which is in includes/cron/rssposter.php, and change it (because there aren't any hooks in that file that are useful). There's a "case 'thread'" around line 372 that is the start of the code that creates a thread.
If you really wanted to do it via plugins, it might be possible to use a hook in the Thread_FirstPost datamanager and try to change the forumid before the thread is saved (I think the $itemdata and $feed are globals at that point). But you'd also need a way to make sure it's the rssposter.php script that's creating the thread. Maybe checking for the existance of the global $feed would work. I think you'd need to look at the code in includes/class_dm_threadpost.php and includes/cron/rssposter.php to be able to figure that out without relying on a lot of lucky guesses.
DaveNGU
03-31-2013, 12:18 AM
OK, then if I understand that correctly, I think the easiest thing to do (in terms of figuring out how to get it to work) would be to find the code that posts the items in threads, which is in includes/cron/rssposter.php, and change it (because there aren't any hooks in that file that are useful). There's a "case 'thread'" around line 372 that is the start of the code that creates a thread.
If you really wanted to do it via plugins, it might be possible to use a hook in the Thread_FirstPost datamanager and try to change the forumid before the thread is saved (I think the $itemdata and $feed are globals at that point). But you'd also need a way to make sure it's the rssposter.php script that's creating the thread. Maybe checking for the existance of the global $feed would work. I think you'd need to look at the code in includes/class_dm_threadpost.php and includes/cron/rssposter.php to be able to figure that out without relying on a lot of lucky guesses.
Thanks for your help, I think I'm definitely on my way there, but wouldn't have been able to without your help. I was trying it with plugins as that is always preferred but it's just so much easier to do it in the file. Much appreciated!
Now I've just gotta figure out how to create conditions based on what category each article is in.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.