View Full Version : URL change on pages?
wurkanimal
03-02-2013, 09:51 AM
I have some external pages made for my site, the only problem is the url is far too long, any idea how I can change them to just advertise.php etc?
http://bornurban.com/misc.php?do=page&template=advertise
Thanks!
omardealo
03-30-2013, 02:27 PM
yes u can
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164
wurkanimal
03-30-2013, 09:03 PM
yes u can
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164
Thanks but this doesn't mention anything about url name changes to / etc
omardealo
03-30-2013, 10:00 PM
u want link of this page like this --> bornurban.com/advertise.php
This is what I understand from you ... True ؟
wurkanimal
03-30-2013, 10:17 PM
Yes, correct
omardealo
03-31-2013, 12:37 PM
Yes, correct
Well I've put you the link
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=62164
any way Follow this steps
1 - Create php page ->advertise.php , and put it in www folder
<?php
// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS', 1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'advertise'); // change this depending on your filename
// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(
);
// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
);
// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
'advertise',
);
// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(
);
// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');
// ################################################## #####################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// ################################################## #####################
$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'BornUrban.com - Online Rap & Hip Hop discussion forum - Advertise with us';
$navbits = construct_navbits($navbits);
eval('$navbar = "' . fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('advertise') . '");');
?>
2 - Now create the template in your style , called it advertise with the following content:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>
$footer
</body>
</html>
Brandon Sheley
03-31-2013, 02:07 PM
If it's just that one URL, you could shorten it with a few .htaccess rules
something like this
http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?535796-shorten-URL-with-mod_rewrite-in-htaccess-file
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.