View Full Version : can't get variable to output?
Mickie D
09-15-2012, 07:23 PM
Hi,
I am having an issue with a variable I want to call.
$adss = "CHECK THIS OUT";
vB_Template::preRegister('navbar',array('adss' => $adss));
Nothing shows up using
{vb:raw adss}
in the navbar template.
To be honest I did this just to test the variable, which I am sure should display??
I really wanted to call a custom code from the database using the forumid, but I guess I should get it outputting first
Thank you for any advice
Regards
Mick
Your code looks right, but where did you put it? If it's in a plugin using a hook that is called after the navbar is constructed then that might be the problem.
Mickie D
09-15-2012, 07:41 PM
ahhh its in the showthread complete hook.
I wanted to pull data from the database (forum table) and output it in the navbar.
I have unique data for each forum (forum.un_data), I wanted to display this on the navbar?
Would that be possible?
Thank you very much for your help.
Mick
Scanu
09-15-2012, 07:46 PM
showthread_complete is too late
--------------- Added 1347742066 at 1347742066 ---------------
I don't know if it's possible but you can try to use this on navbar
{vb:raw global.forumid} (is it correct Kevin?)
Yeah, showthread_getinfo looks like a good one, it's after a lot of checks that might send the user somewhere else, but it's before the navbar is made. And you can use $threadinfo['forumid'] to know which forum you're in.
Mickie D
09-15-2012, 08:01 PM
KH99 you are the man!!
Thank you, I am going to try and pull the data from my custom forum info table.
I was thinking something simple like
$adss = $forum['un_data'];
vB_Template::preRegister('navbar',array('adss' => $adss));
But was wondering if I would need to make my table (forum.un_data) preregistered ?
Thanks again Kevin you are a really big help.
Mick
Oh, I see now, you already have the forum data available. Anyway, I'm not quite sure what you're asking but I think the answer is no, if you use the code you're showing there it should work without registering anything else.
Mickie D
09-15-2012, 08:20 PM
Hi Kevin,
I am trying to pull data onto the navbar from a custom field in the forum table.
I have created a field called un_data
I can enter different data into each forum.un_data.
I will have a go, thanks for your help.
Mick
--------------- Added 1347749920 at 1347749920 ---------------
Hi all,
I have been working on outputting my code.
$results = $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT adss FROM ".TABLE_PREFIX."forum WHERE forumid = $forumid");
$adss = $results;
vB_Template::preRegister('navbar',array('adss' => $adss));
The code just outputs
RESOURCE ID 52
Its not taking the data from adss in the database?
thanks again for all the help.
Mick
--------------- Added 1347790989 at 1347790989 ---------------
I got this working!
It has been a long time since I messed with mysql, and you need to do something with the data lol (mysql_fetch_row - etc), it was stuck in a resource and I forgot to add the code to deal with the array.
Thanks
Mick
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.