View Full Version : Random background image with PHP
stryka
07-03-2012, 09:20 PM
I currently have a PHP function that does a directory scan and randomly pulls an image to appear in the background CSS tag...
It essentially creates the following entry before the BODY tag
<style type="text/css">
body {
background-image: url(http://www.sitename.com/img/bg/IMG_1461_edit.jpg);
}
</style>
Any idea how i can do this in VB3.8?
Thanx
Try creating a new plugin using hook parse_templates and code like this (insert your function at the comment):
ob_start();
// call your function here
$str = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
$vbulletin->templatecache['headinclude'] .= addcslashes($str, '\\"');
stryka
07-04-2012, 09:55 PM
hmm... I think I lost you... what value does $str need to be for it to work?
is this the value i am sending
background-image: url(http://www.sitename.com/img/bg/IMG_1461_edit.jpg);
$str would have to be the entire thing you posted in the first post. If your function is only returning the part you posted above, then try this:
ob_start();
// call your function here
$str = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
$str = '<style type="text/css">
body {
' . $str . '
}
</style>
';
$vbulletin->templatecache['headinclude'] .= addcslashes($str, '\\"');
Also, I was assuming that your function output a string. If it returns a string, then you don't need the ob_start()/ob_end_clean() calls.
stryka
07-04-2012, 10:24 PM
ahh... so my plugin would look like this...
function get_random_image() {
$files = scandir($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/app/webroot/img/bg');
$count = count($files);
srand(time());
$img = $files[rand(0,$count)];
if(($count-2) <= 0) return FALSE;
return $img;
}
function get_random_image_ex() {
do {
$img = get_random_image();
if($img === FALSE) return FALSE;
if($img != '.' && $img != '..' && !empty($img)) break;
}while(true);
return FULL_BASE_URL.'/img/bg/'.$img;
}
$str = get_random_image_ex();
if($str!== FALSE) {
$str = '<style type="text/css">
body {background-image:
' . $str . '
}
</style>
';
$vbulletin->templatecache['headinclude'] .= addcslashes($str, '\\"');
Looks good, except the post is missing the last } .
stryka
07-04-2012, 10:45 PM
Darn... the entry is getting inserted into the HTML when i view source... but the page isn't taking the value and showing the image... i even tried deleting the "background" value in style template of admincp... hmmmm.... so close
What does it look like when you view the html? Looking more closely at the function you posted, I don't see where the "background-image: url(" and the closing ")" come from - maybe those need to be added to the plugin code?
stryka
07-05-2012, 09:54 AM
yup.. that was it.. i usually dont get much help in this forum....
THanks for the help!
What does it look like when you view the html? Looking more closely at the function you posted, I don't see where the "background-image: url(" and the closing ")" come from - maybe those need to be added to the plugin code?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.