Log in

View Full Version : verify_username fails with missing charset in stylevars


Bundschuh
06-04-2012, 08:51 AM
Hi,

I hooked a function at global_bootstrap_complete to register an unknown user before login process is called (my intention look here https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=283789).

For the registering process I'm using the user data manager as well as the function verify_username($username). But this method will fail cause of a missing 'charset' style variable.
To determine the username length the function vbstrlen is called which in turn calls mb_strlen($username, $encoding);
Because of missing the missing charset string in $vbulletin->stylevars['charset'] it will fail by throwing an exception 'Unknown encoding'.

// function.php->vbstrlen()
if (function_exists('mb_strlen') AND $length = @mb_strlen($string, vB_Template_Runtime::fetchStyleVar('charset')))
{
return $length;
}
else
{
return strlen($string);
}

So, at which point the stylevars will be set or how can I manually set a charset?

Currently I came with a quick and dirty solution by setting charset manually
vB_Template_Runtime::addStyleVar('charset', 'utf-8');'

But I couldn't find the location in the code where the stylevars are set/determined.


Maybe there is a more suitable approach.

TIA
Greetings
Bundschuh

futureaudio
06-04-2012, 12:35 PM
Admin CP -> Languages & Phrases -> Language Manager -> [Edit Settings] -> HTML Character Set (needs to be set UTF-8)

Make sure everything else in the forum matches though.

kh99
06-04-2012, 12:46 PM
To be honest I don't understand the hook situation. A comment in global.php says that hook "global_setup_complete" is deprecated, but it appears to be the only "global" hook that is called after the style has been loaded (and it seems like if they are going to suggest that global_bootstrap_complete is a replacement that it should be mostly equivalent). So anyway, maybe you should try using hook global_setup_complete and if they ever do get around to removing it you can deal with it then.

Bundschuh
06-05-2012, 10:14 AM
Thanks for you answers.

@futureaudio:
I'd like to avoid changes in admincp to make a plugin running. But thanks for the advice, I will give this a try.

@kh99:
I was asking myself the same question especially because the functions load_style() and process_templates() are commented out in class_bootstrap.php->bootstrap().
Maybe it's as you described, if they remove the hooks in global.php they will also have to call style and templates in bootstrap itself.

Greetings
Bundschuh