View Full Version : custom code in vanbar based on forum id
sailnet
05-29-2012, 07:26 PM
I have several forums where I'd like to display a certain graphic under the navbar for specific forum id's.
how can this be done?
I'm sure it's possible I just don't know how.
thanks in advance.
Lynne
05-29-2012, 08:15 PM
for forum 1, use an image like "myimage1.png" and for forum 2, use "myimage2.png", etc. Then you can just change the 1,2 in the image name depending on the forumid.
sailnet
05-29-2012, 08:23 PM
for forum 1, use an image like "myimage1.png" and for forum 2, use "myimage2.png", etc. Then you can just change the 1,2 in the image name depending on the forumid.
I understand that but how do I write the code that goes inside the template.
can I write this?
<if condition $foruminfo[forumid] = 'n'>
some statements
</if>
--------------- Added 1338326940 at 1338326940 ---------------
for forum 1, use an image like "myimage1.png" and for forum 2, use "myimage2.png", etc. Then you can just change the 1,2 in the image name depending on the forumid.
I understand that but how do I write the code that goes inside the template.
can I write this?
<if condition $foruminfo[forumid] = 'n'>
some statements
</if>
Lynne
05-30-2012, 12:41 AM
No, just write:
<vb:if condition="in_array($forum[forumid], array(x,y,z))">
<img src="myimage{vb:raw forum.forumid}" alt="" />
</vb:if>
(I'm not sure that variable will work - it depends on what template you put the code in)
Simon Lloyd
05-30-2012, 02:57 AM
Hi Lynne, you're lost in vb4 :)
try
<if condition=""in_array($forum[forumid], array(x,y,z))">
<img src="myimage"+$forum[forumid] alt="" />
</if>
sailnet
05-30-2012, 12:34 PM
I'm on vb 3.84 - I did find that this work fine for me also.
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 55">
<h1>this is a test</h1>
</if>
Simon Lloyd
05-30-2012, 01:59 PM
That will work but you wanted to call an image not just show text, if you name your images whateverxx where xx would be the forumid that they would show for my code (and indeed Lynnes for VB4) should display the right image for the right forum.
sailnet
05-30-2012, 02:11 PM
thanks simon - my basic challange is that on certain forums I need to display one graphic at the top - on all other forums I need to include from google code that display s a banner ad from google.
so I'm having a little trouble with the structure of the code to test for multiple forum id and display a unique graphic for each of the 'special' forum id's ELSE display the google ad.
--------------- Added 1338390824 at 1338390824 ---------------
My guess is that I am face with this code.
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 55">
display image1
else <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 155">
display image2
else <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 159">
display image3
else
insert my google ad code here.
Simon Lloyd
05-30-2012, 03:48 PM
It would be<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 55">
<img src="/mypicturepath/mypic1" /></if>
<else />
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 155">
<img src="/mypicturepath/mypic2" /></if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 159">....etc </if>
sailnet
05-30-2012, 03:56 PM
mucho gracias!
Lynne
05-30-2012, 04:15 PM
Hi Lynne, you're lost in vb4 :)
Sometimes I think they should use different colors in the vb4 forums and vb3 forums so I don't goof like that!
Simon Lloyd
05-30-2012, 04:24 PM
Sometimes I think they should use different colors in the vb4 forums and vb3 forums so I don't goof like that!No, sometimes it's nice to see you're human ;)
sailnet
05-31-2012, 02:26 PM
hate to resurrect this but can someone help me with the code here:
basically - if NONE of the Above then my google code should be used...right now the google code is always being called:
should I just be writing some php code and evaluating the variables here instead?
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 221">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/contributing-publishers.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 222">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/ocean-navigator.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 223">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/good-old-boat.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 224">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/practical-sailor.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 225">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/cruising-world.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 184">
<br /><img src="images/ocean-navigator/latts.gif" /><br />
</if>
<else />
<div id='div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0' style='width:728px; height:90px;'>
<script type='text/javascript'>
googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0'); });
</script>
</div>
Simon Lloyd
05-31-2012, 06:37 PM
Like this<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 221">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/contributing-publishers.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 222">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/ocean-navigator.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 223">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/good-old-boat.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 224">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/practical-sailor.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 225">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/cruising-world.gif" />
</if>
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 184">
<br /><img src="images/ocean-navigator/latts.gif" /><br />
</if>
<else />
<if condition="!in_array($forum['forumid'], array(221,222,223,,224,225,184))">
<div id='div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0' style='width:728px; height:90px;'>
<script type='text/javascript'>
googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0'); });
</script>
</div></if>
Lynne
05-31-2012, 08:09 PM
Actually, you don't </if> right before the <else />, so wouldn't it be something more like this?
<if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 221">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/contributing-publishers.gif" />
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 222">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/ocean-navigator.gif" />
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 223">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/good-old-boat.gif" />
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 224">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/practical-sailor.gif" />
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 225">
<img src="images/ocean-navigator/cruising-world.gif" />
<else /> <if condition="$foruminfo['forumid'] == 184">
<br /><img src="images/ocean-navigator/latts.gif" /><br />
<else />
<if condition="!in_array($forum['forumid'], array(221,222,223,,224,225,184))">
<div id='div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0' style='width:728px; height:90px;'>
<script type='text/javascript'>
googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display('div-gpt-ad-1337810311805-0'); });
</script></div>
</if>
</if>
</if>
</if>
</if>
</if>
</if>
Simon Lloyd
05-31-2012, 08:40 PM
emb: errrm, yes thats what i meant :) lol, good catch Lynne!
Lynne
06-01-2012, 02:27 AM
Actually, I never write vB3.8 template conditions anymore so I'm not totally sure that is what he wants.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.