View Full Version : How to refresh activitystream each X second ?
Altari
05-29-2012, 05:15 PM
Hello,
I would like to automatically refresh the activity stream every, maybe 5 seconds. Is there a way to do this ? (Vb's default setting is only for minutes).
I had a look in clientscript/vbulletin_activitystream.js and change some things, but that's not enough and do nothing.
Thank you.
Badshah93
05-29-2012, 07:21 PM
you will need to edit these line in activitystream.js file
Change this line
if(this.options.refresh*60000>300000){this.idlerefresh=this.options.refresh*6000 0}else{this.idlerefresh=300000}
To
if(this.options.refresh*1000>60000){this.idlerefresh=this.options.refresh*1000} else{this.idlerefresh=60000}
now if you enter 5 in vB default setting, it will be treated as 5 seconds.
setishock
05-30-2012, 01:16 AM
Does your forum really get that busy that you need to refresh every 5 seconds as opposed to every 5 minutes? The more things you give to VB to do more often will chew up CPU cycles as well as pounding on your database. Your host may not appreciate that.
Taking a huge gamble by doing every 5 seconds.............Just saying
Altari
05-30-2012, 02:13 PM
This depend of users viewing the activity stream isn't it ? I have something like 400-600 users on my board at the same time, but nomore than 10/20 users watching the activity stream, so the the server load should be negligible ? (Dedicated server)
--------------- Added 1338391354 at 1338391354 ---------------
you will need to edit these line in activitystream.js file
Change this line
if(this.options.refresh*60000>300000){this.idlerefresh=this.options.refresh*6000 0}else{this.idlerefresh=300000}
To
if(this.options.refresh*1000>60000){this.idlerefresh=this.options.refresh*1000} else{this.idlerefresh=60000}
now if you enter 5 in vB default setting, it will be treated as 5 seconds.
Thank you for your help, but that's not enough and this doesn't work.
Badshah93
05-30-2012, 03:35 PM
try this one (last code was refrshing in every 60 seconds or more)
Replace
if(this.options.refresh*60000>300000){this.idlerefresh=this.options.refresh*6000 0}else{this.idlerefresh=300000}
With
if(this.options.refresh){this.idlerefresh=this.opt ions.refresh*1000}else{this.idlerefresh=60000}
Altari
05-31-2012, 08:30 AM
This work well, thank you, i have set 10 sec.
Thank you.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.