View Full Version : Showing an avatar in the CMS
imnomarty
05-14-2012, 01:02 AM
Hello
I need to add an avatar to the articles of my site on request of the authors, but everything I have tried does not work.
I found something but I'm pretty sure it is outdated and does not work.
So please help me out.
LifesGreatestGift
05-14-2012, 03:03 AM
Where exactly does the avatar need to show? Show us what you have tried, and what you found but is outdated.
imnomarty
05-14-2012, 09:05 AM
http://thejestersgallery.com/index.php
if you take a look at the articles, I want the avatars to show above the publish information.
I have tried this link for vBulletin.com How-To: Add User Avatar to CMS Articles (https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php/387323-How-To-Add-User-Avatar-to-CMS-Articles) (i thought this was outdated)
This one shows a nice white box but no avatar image
ive also tired this code added to and img code, with no luck
<img src="{vb:raw post.avatarurl}"
Lynne
05-14-2012, 03:47 PM
I got it to work by using this as the plugin code:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');
if(self::VIEW_PAGE == $viewtype) {
$avatarurl = fetch_avatar_url($view->authorid, true);
if ($avatarurl[0]) $avatarurl = $avatarurl[0];
/* render template and register variables */
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_content_article_pa ge',array('avatarurl' => $avatarurl));
}
Mr_Running
05-14-2012, 04:48 PM
I attempted this back in Sept 2011 and now today and the closest I get is just seeing the title Author Avatar and I have never seen the avatar image.
If anyone has a suggestion where to place the code...
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
in the vbcms_content_article_page
imnomarty
05-14-2012, 09:13 PM
I got it to work by using this as the plugin code:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');
if(self::VIEW_PAGE == $viewtype) {
$avatarurl = fetch_avatar_url($view->authorid, true);
if ($avatarurl[0]) $avatarurl = $avatarurl[0];
/* render template and register variables */
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_content_article_pa ge',array('avatarurl' => $avatarurl));
}
Would I change
vbcms_content_article_page to vbcms_content_article_preview
to use it were i want it?
Lynne
05-14-2012, 09:16 PM
I just placed it where they spit out the authors name:
<vb:if condition="$showuser">
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<div class="article_username_container<vb:if condition="!$showrating">_full</vb:if>">
{vb:rawphrase by_x_nolink, {vb:raw memberaction_dropdown}}
</div>
</vb:if>
However, it needs some styling, so you'll have to add some CSS to move things around. (Since I don't actually use this code, I never got that far.)
imnomarty
05-14-2012, 09:32 PM
Hmm, its still not working. Do i have to enable something?
lewisforlife
05-15-2012, 03:59 PM
Hmm, its still not working. Do i have to enable something?
You do have to enable the plugin by going to Plugins & Products->Plugin Manager, scroll down to your plugin and enable it.
Lynne: This is working for me, now I also want to show the avatar on the CMS preview on the home page. What are the steps that I take to register the variable to work on: vbcms_content_article_preview?
Thanks.
--------------- Added 1337101605 at 1337101605 ---------------
Nevermind, this worked:
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_content_article_pr eview',array('avatarurl' => $avatarurl));
Now my question is, if the person has an avatar the avatar shows, if they don't have one, then text shows up that says: "Author Avatar". I do not want that text to show up, I would like to show a blank avatar picture if the user doesn't have one, sort of like what shows on the blog page if a user doesn't have an avatar. How would I accomplish this?
--------------- Added 1337102608 at 1337102608 ---------------
I tried this:
<vb:if {vb:raw avatarurl}!="">
<br /><img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" /> <br />
<vb:else />
<img src="images/misc/unknown.gif" />
</vb:if>
but I get "an empty or invalid if condition was found. What is wrong with this, can you help me change this so that the unkown.gif shows if a user does not have an avatar? thanks.
--------------- Added 1337102888 at 1337102888 ---------------
This worked, sorry I asked my question too soon:
<vb:if condition="$avatarurl != ''">
<br /><img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" /> <br />
<vb:else />
<br /><img src="images/misc/unknown.gif" /> <br />
</vb:if>
Lynne
05-15-2012, 04:36 PM
You could probably also just use this instead:
<vb:if condition="$avatarurl">
Thank you for posting your working code! :)
imnomarty
05-15-2012, 09:48 PM
It still does not work and I have no idea why. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I tried the codes you guys gave, but still no luck.
Although thanks for all the help, this is a really great community for good software.
Lynne
05-16-2012, 04:51 PM
You need to post a link to your page where it is not working and then post *exactly* (copy/paste it) what you have done and please use code tags when you do so.
imnomarty
05-16-2012, 05:34 PM
You need to post a link to your page where it is not working and then post *exactly* (copy/paste it) what you have done and please use code tags when you do so.
Okay so here is the page. Front page of my site. http://thejestersgallery.com/content.php
So what i have done so far is follow the instructions on the site to make the plugin and instead of using his code I used yours. And since I want this to go in preview I used lewisforlife code to change it.
require_once(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');
if(self::VIEW_PAGE == $viewtype) {
$avatarurl = fetch_avatar_url($view->authorid, true);
if ($avatarurl[0]) $avatarurl = $avatarurl[0];
/* render template and register variables */
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_content_article_pr eview',array('avatarurl' => $avatarurl));
}
Then I put the img code into preview and all i get is a white box
<vb:if condition="$showuser OR $showpublishdate OR ($showupdated AND $lastupdated) OR ($viewcount AND $showviewcount) OR ($showrating AND $rating!='')">
<div class="cms_article_username cms_publish_column">
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<vb:if condition="$showuser">
{vb:rawphrase by_x_nolink, {vb:raw memberaction_dropdown}}
</vb:if>
Lynne
05-16-2012, 08:56 PM
As it says in the original article, you cannot have the condition (if(self::VIEW_PAGE == $viewtype)) around the code if you need it for the preview page.
imnomarty
05-16-2012, 10:37 PM
Thank You this is wonderful
JustAskJulie
08-26-2013, 05:39 PM
I used the coding below and I'm getting nothing showing up. My site (http://www.swingersboard.com/forums/content/section/8-stories.html) (adult related)
I got it to work by using this as the plugin code:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/functions_user.php');
if(self::VIEW_PAGE == $viewtype) {
$avatarurl = fetch_avatar_url($view->authorid, true);
if ($avatarurl[0]) $avatarurl = $avatarurl[0];
/* render template and register variables */
vB_Template::preRegister('vbcms_content_article_pa ge',array('avatarurl' => $avatarurl));
}
I just placed it where they spit out the authors name:
<vb:if condition="$showuser">
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<div class="article_username_container<vb:if condition="!$showrating">_full</vb:if>">
{vb:rawphrase by_x_nolink, {vb:raw memberaction_dropdown}}
</div>
</vb:if>
However, it needs some styling, so you'll have to add some CSS to move things around. (Since I don't actually use this code, I never got that far.)
Lynne
08-26-2013, 08:41 PM
Try removing the condition around that template code and see if it shows up. Also, you are editing the style that you are using, right?
JustAskJulie
08-30-2013, 07:51 PM
Try removing the condition around that template code and see if it shows up. Also, you are editing the style that you are using, right?
So, change
<vb:if condition="$showuser">
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<div class="article_username_container<vb:if condition="!$showrating">_full</vb:if>">
{vb:rawphrase by_x_nolink, {vb:raw memberaction_dropdown}}
</div>
</vb:if>
to
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<div class="article_username_container<vb:if condition="!$showrating">_full</vb:if>">
{vb:rawphrase by_x_nolink, {vb:raw memberaction_dropdown}}
</div>
?
Still doesn't give me an avatar :(
Lynne
08-31-2013, 02:37 AM
If it still doesn't give you an avatar, then you either have it inside another condition that isn't allowing it to display or you are editing the wrong template or wrong style template.
JustAskJulie
09-04-2013, 03:10 PM
I'm in the vbcms_content_article_page template.
Going to the top of the code, this is what it has. Am I putting the Author avatar stuff in the wrong place?
{vb:raw css}
<div class="article_width" id="article_content">
<div class="title">
<h1 class="article_title cms_article_title"><span>{vb:raw title}</span>
<vb:if condition="$can_edit">
<a href="{vb:raw edit_url}" class="edit"><img class="editimage" src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_cms}/edit_small.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase edit}" /></a>
</vb:if>
</h1>
</div>
<div class="article_author_date_comment_container">
<vb:comment>
<img src="{vb:raw avatarurl}" alt="Author Avatar" />
<div>
<a href="{vb:link member, {vb:raw userid}}"><img src="{vb:raw vboptions.bburl}/image.php?{vb:raw session.sessionurl}u={vb:raw userid}&type=profile" alt="" class="post_avatar" /></a>
</div>
</vb:comment>
Lynne
09-04-2013, 04:02 PM
It is between <vb:comment> tags which means it won't show. You need to remove those comment tags.
JustAskJulie
09-09-2013, 06:07 PM
That fixed it. Thank you for being patient and helpful!
One more question, how would I edit it so that the image aligns to the left of the the author name, date, etc ?
JustAskJulie
09-18-2013, 09:02 PM
Can you tell me what I need to edit in the CSS so that the avatar aligns up to the left of the username and publishing info.
Lynne
09-18-2013, 10:53 PM
I'd need to see the page and view it using firebug to be able to write some CSS.
JustAskJulie
09-19-2013, 07:32 PM
<a href="http://www.swingersboard.com/forums/content/1159-don-t-wallflower-pt-4-approach.html" target="_blank">http://www.swingersboard.com/forums/...-approach.html</a> (*this site contains adult content)
Lynne
09-19-2013, 08:46 PM
You are going to have to rewrite parts of that template to do that. You can't just add some simple CSS to make it how you want. You'd want to throw the image into the "class="fullwidth"" div and float it left. After that you should be able to play with the other CSS to get things to lineup how you want.
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.