Log in

View Full Version : Replace some characters in User Profile Field content (Many people should need it)


basketmen
04-12-2012, 01:30 AM
I need to replace some characters in User Profile Field content,
for example aaa to be bbb


maybe there is two way, please help to make one of them or both works :




1. i see in User Profile Field Manager, there is regex function, what is the regex function patern to search and replace there?




2. or using a plugin with profile_updateprofile hook, but looks like below variable code in red are still wrong, so this is still not working


$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->user[$field] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->user[$field]);

Simon Lloyd
04-14-2012, 07:55 PM
I think you may need to use$this->registry->userinfo['fieldx']) where fieldx would be your field number like ['field 12']

basketmen
04-15-2012, 09:23 PM
thank you for replying, Simon Lloyd, i already tried it :
$this->registry->userinfo['field1'] = str_replace($word, $link, $this->registry->userinfo['field1']);

but get this error message
Fatal error: Using $this when not in object context in /home/username/public_html/profile.php(851) : eval()'d code on line 12




i already tried this too
$vbulletin->registry->userinfo['field1'] = str_replace($word, $link, $vbulletin->registry->userinfo['field1']);

but nothing changed, from example, aaa still cant be bbb




please help guys, make this plugin working, or using regex function patern to search and replace in the profile fields

kh99
04-15-2012, 10:32 PM
It might work if you use hook profile_start and code like this:

if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['userfield'][$field] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['userfield'][$field]);
}


but of course you need to set $field to something.

basketmen
04-16-2012, 12:45 AM
thank you for replying too, i already tried the code and using profile_start hook

but its looks like still not working

do you mean change $field, to using field id like this right : $field1, or is it need other variable?

please help guys, i think this is basic thing that needed for vb, it will be rare characters that we want to replaced, but its should be patched too

Simon Lloyd
04-16-2012, 12:51 AM
It wouldn't be $field1 but rather ['field1'] so the id of the field you are trying to manipulate :)

basketmen
04-16-2012, 03:44 AM
Hmm i am afraid still not working

using this

if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC[field1] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC[field1]);
}



or this



if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['field1'] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['field1']);
}




how is it the code actually?

Simon Lloyd
04-16-2012, 04:08 AM
Have you thought about leaving out you IF condition and see if you can get a replacement every time the hook is called?

basketmen
04-16-2012, 04:30 AM
If you mean removing the if condition, i already tried it too



$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC[field1] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC[field1]);




or this




$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['field1'] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['field1']);





but still not replacing too, you can try it in your vb3 test site, or i can give a vb3 test site access if you like

kh99
04-16-2012, 05:24 AM
Sorry, I left something out in the code I posted. It should have been:

$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);


By the way, the reason that I thought profile_start would be better is that at profile_updateprofile the datamanager fields have been set already, so just doing a replace won't work.

basketmen
04-16-2012, 09:34 AM
Dear kh99, i am sorry, so is it like this

if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY); = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY););




or this one


if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY) = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY));
}
}



i tried both got error message like this

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '=' in /home/username/public_html/profile.php(156) : eval()'d code on line 22

kh99
04-16-2012, 10:55 AM
No, just the one change, like this:

if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['fieldX'] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['fieldX']);
}


Where you replace the 2 occurrences of 'fieldX' with the real field name that you want to change.


It wouldn't be $field1 but rather ['field1'] so the id of the field you are trying to manipulate :)

Right. Or else you'd need to set $field to something like:

$fields = array('field4', 'field7', 'field8');
foreach ($fields AS $field)
{
$vbulletin->GPC['userfield'][$field] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['userfield'][$field]);
}

basketmen
04-16-2012, 05:53 PM
Dear kh99, thank you for explaining it again, but its looks like still not working




if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'aaa',
'ccc'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['field1'] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['field1']);
}



is it working in your vbulletin test? if needed i can give a vb3 test site access

kh99
04-16-2012, 06:16 PM
Well, I have a vb3 test site, but I haven't actually tried this code. But now I see that I've misled you again with another mistake. The last line should be:

$vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['field1'] = str_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, $vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['field1']);



ETA: ...and that seems to work for me. I used 'field4' (Occupation) and when I edited my details and put in "aaa" it was set to "bbb".

Also, that will obviously only work if the entire sting matches. If you want substrings, I think this should work:

if ($_POST['do'] == 'updateprofile')
{
$vbulletin->input->clean_gpc('p', 'userfield', TYPE_ARRAY);

$fieldcontentbefore = array(
'/aaa/',
'/ccc/'
);

$fieldcontentafter = array(
'bbb',
'ddd'
);


$vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['field1'] = preg_replace($fieldcontentbefore, $fieldcontentafter, preg_quote($vbulletin->GPC['userfield']['field1'], '/'));
}



Note the before array needs '/' before and after the string to be matched.

basketmen
04-17-2012, 10:53 AM
Gorgeus!! many thanks kh99!!


i recommend release a mod for it

we already have global replacement variable

we already have replacement in postbit (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=93758)

and this one is replacement in profile field