PDA

View Full Version : Rendering a specific Forum


sleepygiant
03-05-2012, 05:38 PM
Hi There,
I was wondering if there is a way inside of a style to specify a specific forumid to render.

Thanks
john

kh99
03-05-2012, 06:20 PM
Not sure what you mean - do you want a condition so that you can display something different depending on the forumid? If so it would be:

<vb:if condition="$GLOBALS['forumid'] == X">
// something for forum X only
</vb:if>

sleepygiant
03-05-2012, 06:38 PM
Hi,
Close. Here's some sudo-code for what i'd like to do

{vb: raw render_forumid=7}
would display the forum that usually shows on the home page.

john

kh99
03-05-2012, 07:06 PM
I'm not sure what you mean by "the forum that displays on the home page". But I'm pretty sure what you're asking isn't easy - you'd have to have a plugin or php code somewhere to create the string you want, which would probably need to include a lot of the code from forumdisplay.php.

sleepygiant
03-05-2012, 08:51 PM
Thanks kh. I know it's very vauge, but I think I agree: the best way to accomplish this is to write a plugin.

kh99
03-05-2012, 09:30 PM
Are you planning on writing one? I had an idea about that (but like most of my ideas, nothing ever happened with it).