PDA

View Full Version : Call Vars from vBulletin into Plugin and echo them in a template


skateme
02-19-2012, 08:41 PM
I want to apply the "substr()" function to one of the custom profile fields. I will display the modified field in my postbit. I am trying to display the last two characters of the college graduation year in the postbit as follows: College 'YR.

I know I have to create a plugin calling in the field4 (college graduation year) variable, apply the substr() function, and create a new variable to echo in my template.

My plugin is as follows:

$vbulletin->profilefieldname[field4] = $collgrad;
$collgradtruncated = substr($collgrad, 2);


$mytemplater = vB_Template::create('mytemplate');
$mytemplater->register('my_str', $my_str);
$myrendervar = $mytemplater->render();
vB_Template::preRegister('postbit_legacy',array('m yrendervar ' => $myrendervar));


This is the relevant code in the postbit_legacy:

<vb:if condition="$post['field4']"><dt>{vb:rawphrase college}</dt> <dd>{vb:raw post.field4} '{vb:raw collgradtruncated}</dd></vb:if>


Obviously, it does not work. I was hoping someone could tell me the following:
1) how to call profile field values in my plugin
2) setup a variable in my plugin that I can use in my template
3) tell me what is wrong with my code
4) fix the code for me

Thank you so much!

kh99
02-19-2012, 08:58 PM
I think what you want for the first line is:

$collgrad = $post['field4'];

and you have an extra space in 'myrendervar ' lower down.

But I think maybe you just want to do this:
$collgradtruncated = substr($post['field4'], -2);
vB_Template::preRegister('postbit_legacy',array('c ollgradtruncated' => $collgradtruncated));


then in the template you can use {vb:raw collgradtruncated} for the two digit year.

You didn't say which hook location you're using.

skateme
02-19-2012, 09:36 PM
Thanks Kevin. I'm using global_start.

The code you supplied doesn't function. Do I need to add something else?

kh99
02-19-2012, 09:46 PM
If I understand what you're doing, you want to put the college year info in the postbit, so you want it to be the post author's year? Then you need to use a hook location that is called once per post, before it's rendered, like postbit_display_complete.

skateme
02-19-2012, 09:57 PM
Awesome! That worked great! Thanks so much for the help!