PDA

View Full Version : Force WWW with htaccess


vBNinja
05-16-2011, 12:56 PM
hello


i want to force www on my forums so that if its typed without the "www" it automatically adds it

my forum not on the main domain, it is a subdomain so the code needs to be made to work within the directory where my forum is on

my forum is in a directory called "forums"

so basically: http://mysite.com/forums

i want everything within the that directory to automatically get the "www"

Can someone please help me


Thank You :)

Lynne
05-16-2011, 02:41 PM
google is your friend (as is search since this has been covered many times before)

http://davidwalsh.name/no-www-using-htaccess-file

(examples for with or without www included in above link.)

vBNinja
05-16-2011, 03:06 PM
ive tried those before but it would redirect:

http://mysite.com/forums/forum.php
to
http://www.mysite.com/forum.php

(leaving out my directory)

Lynne
05-16-2011, 03:14 PM
If you are having problems, please post *exactly* what you used and then tell us the *exact* problem you are having with that code.

vBNinja
05-16-2011, 05:03 PM
This is what i used and it just gave me the page not found error


RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} !^www\.mydomain.com/foruns/$1
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.%{HTTP_HOST}/forums/$1 [R=301,L]

Lynne
05-16-2011, 08:49 PM
foruns? That isn't going to work. mydomain.com won't work either. That also doesn't look like the link I posted. I use something that looks very much like the stuff in the link I posted and it works fine.

Valter
05-16-2011, 09:18 PM
This works for me:

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine ON
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]

Replace both instances of "domain.com" with your real domain.

vBNinja
05-17-2011, 01:12 AM
This works for me:

Options +FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine ON
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^domain.com [NC]
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.domain.com/$1 [L,R=301]

Replace both instances of "domain.com" with your real domain.

i know that works only if your forums is installed in the root of your domain

my forum is in a directory within my domain

this is similar to my issue:
http://www.vbseo.com/f4/add-www-via-htaccess-vbulletin-folder-42567/

Lynne
05-17-2011, 05:18 PM
My forum is not installed in the root and that htaccess works fine for me. If you are using vbseo, then you will need to ask them for help with the issue.

vBNinja
05-17-2011, 09:54 PM
Can you post your exact code so i can just replace it with my domain

Thank you

Lynne
05-18-2011, 02:56 PM
Mine is almost the same as Valter's.
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^mydomain\.org
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.mydomain.org/$1 [L,R=301]

vBNinja
05-18-2011, 03:16 PM
Mine is almost the same as Valter's.
RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^mydomain\.org
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.mydomain.org/$1 [L,R=301]


where do you include the "/forum" directory there so it doesnt redirect to the root domain where my forums isnt at...

Lynne
05-18-2011, 04:04 PM
That works for my site even though I have my site in /forums

Have you tried these? It just takes seconds to see if it works or not.

vBNinja
05-18-2011, 09:37 PM
got it working!

had to make a minor change to that code though

Thank You

Lynne
05-19-2011, 03:52 AM
got it working!

had to make a minor change to that code though

Thank You
Why don't you post what you did since it may help someone else who finds this thread.

Boofo
05-19-2011, 04:07 AM
Here is what I use to redirect to my forums dir:

Options +FollowSymlinks
RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
RewriteRule ^/?$ "http\:\/\/mysite\.com\/forums\/" [R=301,L]


Lynne, what is the $1 for at the end of your site url?

vBNinja
05-19-2011, 03:09 PM
Why don't you post what you did since it may help someone else who finds this thread.
i just added the "/forums" at the end

Here is what I use to redirect to my forums dir:

Options +FollowSymlinks
RewriteEngine on

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^.*$
RewriteRule ^/?$ "http\:\/\/mysite\.com\/forums\/" [R=301,L]


Lynne, what is the $1 for at the end of your site url?

thats just to show the page you are opening within that directory..

Boofo
05-19-2011, 04:07 PM
You lost me. How does it know what page to show?

Lynne
05-19-2011, 04:16 PM
Think of $1 as like a variable. You passed it a url mydomain.com/somelinkhere.php and the somelinkhere.php is the $1.

At least, that is how I think of it.

Boofo
05-19-2011, 05:02 PM
That is what I thought. But I don't see you setting it anywhere in the htaccess. Where does it get set?

Lynne
05-19-2011, 07:07 PM
It just... is.

I honestly can't speak too much about htaccess and that variable. Some things I haven't totally wrapped my head around. .htaccess and preg_replace are two things I need to just force my way through.

Boofo
05-19-2011, 07:18 PM
Ok, but in your case, what is it passing? Do you know? And wouldn't it work the same without it?

Like you, pre-replace and regex are areas which I'm not sure I will ever understand fully. htaccess gets a little less confusng the more I work with it.

Lynne
05-19-2011, 10:48 PM
You are 'passing' the stuff after the url. It may work perfectly fine without it - I've never tried it. I just found something that worked for me and I've kept it.