PDA

View Full Version : Can't modify $post['signature'] in plugin...


BirdOPrey5
11-28-2010, 06:58 AM
I can modify $post['message'] and $post['title'] no problem... I'm trying to modify $post['signature'] by searching for a string, if it's found, replacing it with a different string.

I tried postbit_display_complete first and while it worked for message and title it didn't do anything for signature...

So then I changed it to postbit_display_start and nothing from there either- I get no errors but the text never gets replaced.

This is frustrating because I have another custom plugin running on the same hook which modifies $post['signature'] already and it works. (I disabled that plugin while testing the new one.)

The working plugin evaluates a template on the signature start template hook and then "erases" the existing sig with the line:
$post['signature'] = '';
and like I said that definitely works. I can't figure out what is different in the old plugin that it works where as the new one doesn't. Is there something screwy about $post['signature'] I'm missing?:confused:

Boofo
11-28-2010, 07:00 AM
You need to look in the db and see what it shows for the string you are looking for before it is parsed.

BirdOPrey5
11-28-2010, 01:58 PM
So would a different hook be better- after it is parsed? I would think postbit_display_complete would be after parsing...

--------------- Added 1290961069 at 1290961069 ---------------

GOT IT!!

This is absolutely ridiculous but in postbit_display_complete it does work IF I use:
$post[signatue]
but doesn't work if I use
$post['signature']

Lynne
11-28-2010, 02:55 PM
I assume you mean $post[signature]? But actually, if you look at the code around postbit_display_complete, you'll see the proper variable to use is $this->post, so it should be $this->post['signature'] . (however, I tried $post['signature'] and it worked fine for me. :/ )

BirdOPrey5
11-28-2010, 06:11 PM
You know it was 4am... I'm not sure of anything at this point.:p