View Full Version : Plugins for Forum Postbit generate errors in CMS?
djbaxter
08-17-2010, 12:00 AM
I adapted the Latest Blog Using Carp add-on to vB4 here: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=234254
At the time, I was using only the Forum (CMS and Blog disabled in the Suite) and it worked fine, displaying the title of the latest (external) blog feed in the postbit for any forum post by that member.
The add-on uses two small plug-ins:
1. Carp Configuration, attached to the "global_start" hook location (I realize this should now be changed to global_bootstrap_init_start but doing that makes no difference - I still get the errors).
require_once '/path/to/forum/carp/carp.php';
CarpConf('carperrors',0);
CarpConf('cacheinterval',120);
/** You may want to set a cachepath specifically for your forum **/
/** CarpConf('cachepath','/path/to/carp_cache/'); **/
/** CarpConf('cacherelative',0); **/
/** You can omit the above two lines without a problem **/
CarpConf('cborder','');
CarpConf('poweredby','');
CarpConf('maxitems',1);
CarpConf('iorder','link');
CarpConf('linktarget',1);
2. Get Users Blog Entry, attached to postbit_display_start
ob_start();
CarpCacheShow($post[field6]);
$blogentry = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
vB_Template::preRegister('postbit',array('blogentr y' => $blogentry));
When I enable CMS, however, I get errors like this depending on which hook I attach the two plgins to:
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
The thing is that this should only function for forum posts anyway. It isn't needed in CMS (or the vBulletin Blog for that matter although I haven't enabled that yet). For me, the errors are seen whenever I try to edit the CMS article or add or edit a comment. Another user who has this installed reported the same problems.
What do I need to do to eliminate these errors?
Lynne
08-17-2010, 03:39 AM
If you only want it to work on the showthread page, then wrap the plugin at the global_start location with a THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' condition otherwise it is evaled on every single page.
djbaxter
08-17-2010, 04:03 AM
Tried this:
if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'showthread' OR THIS_SCRIPT == 'showpost')
{
require_once '/path/to/forum/carp/carp.php';
CarpConf('carperrors',0);
CarpConf('cacheinterval',120);
/** You may want to set a cachepath specifically for your forum **/
/** CarpConf('cachepath','/path/to/carp_cache/'); **/
/** CarpConf('cacherelative',0); **/
/** You can omit the above two lines without a problem **/
CarpConf('cborder','');
CarpConf('poweredby','');
CarpConf('maxitems',1);
CarpConf('iorder','link');
CarpConf('linktarget',1);
};
Error:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function CarpCacheShow() in /path/to/forum/includes/class_postbit.php(284) : eval()'d code on line 13
And if I wrap both plugins in that conditional, I get:
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Lynne
08-17-2010, 03:10 PM
And where is that function defined? You need to include that file with the function also.
djbaxter
08-17-2010, 04:15 PM
What function? I've shown you the entire contents of the plug-ins. The only additional code is in postbit which displays the custom field:
<!-- latest blog hack for members in good standing only -->
<vb:if condition="!in_array($bbuserinfo[usergroupid],array(2,20,22,28,30))">
<vb:if condition="$post['field6']">
<!-- <span class="smallfont">Recent Blog: <a href="{vb:raw post[field8]}" target="_blank">{vb:raw blogentry}</a></span> -->
<span class="smallfont">Recent Blog: <a href="{vb:raw post[field8]}" target="_blank">{vb:raw post[field7]}</a></span>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<!-- end latest blog hack for members in good standing only -->
The referenced line 13 in class_postbit.php in the first error is:
if (!isset($GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db))
The referenced line 21 in class_postbit.php in is:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
djbaxter
08-19-2010, 02:22 PM
I'm still unable to get this to stop throwing errors in CMS.
Any suggestions on how to proceed to locate the source of the errors?
Lynne
08-19-2010, 02:32 PM
What function? I've shown you the entire contents of the plug-ins. The only additional code is in postbit which displays the custom field:
<!-- latest blog hack for members in good standing only -->
<vb:if condition="!in_array($bbuserinfo[usergroupid],array(2,20,22,28,30))">
<vb:if condition="$post['field6']">
<!-- <span class="smallfont">Recent Blog: <a href="{vb:raw post[field8]}" target="_blank">{vb:raw blogentry}</a></span> -->
<span class="smallfont">Recent Blog: <a href="{vb:raw post[field8]}" target="_blank">{vb:raw post[field7]}</a></span>
</vb:if>
</vb:if>
<!-- end latest blog hack for members in good standing only -->
The referenced line 13 in class_postbit.php in the first error is:
if (!isset($GLOBALS['vbulletin']->db))The referenced line 21 in class_postbit.php in is:
require_once(DIR . '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
That's actually not how you read the error.
Fatal error: Call to undefined function CarpCacheShow() in /path/to/forum/includes/class_postbit.php(284) : eval()'d code on line 13
That means, look at line 284 of class_postbit.php which is calling something which then has a problem on line 13. So, line 284 of class_postbit.php is this:
($hook = vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('postbit_display_start') ) ? eval($hook) : false;
The problem is with line 13 of something being called by that hook location.
But look at the error... "Call to undefined function CarpCacheShow()" A function is being called that doesn't exist on that page. That is why I asked where the function is defined. Cuz wherever that is, you need to make sure that file is included at that point.
I'm still unable to get this to stop throwing errors in CMS.
Any suggestions on how to proceed to locate the source of the errors?
You need to do something to make sure those plugins are not called on the CMS page (which is why I was suggesting using THIS_SCRIPT)
djbaxter
08-19-2010, 02:46 PM
But see above: I tried using the conditional for THIS_SCRIPT and that didn't help.
But look at the error... "Call to undefined function CarpCacheShow()" A function is being called that doesn't exist on that page. That is why I asked where the function is defined. Cuz wherever that is, you need to make sure that file is included at that point.
The function is defined in the second plugin, Get Users Blog Entry, attached to postbit_display_start:
ob_start();
CarpCacheShow($post[field6]);
$blogentry = ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();
vB_Template::preRegister('postbit',array('blogentr y' => $blogentry));
It simply pulls the information from field6.
Lynne
08-19-2010, 02:59 PM
I think I'm misunderstanding something here. You say when you enable the CMS you get those errors, I had assumed you meant on the CMS page, but think I'm wrong. *What* exact page are you getting the errors on?
Are you sure $post[field6] is valid? Try entering something else and see if it works.
And this is not valid - {vb:raw post[field7]} - it's {vb:raw post.field7}
djbaxter
08-19-2010, 03:05 PM
I think I'm misunderstanding something here. You say when you enable the CMS you get those errors, I had assumed you meant on the CMS page, but think I'm wrong. *What* exact page are you getting the errors on?
The errors occur when I try to edit a CMS article or when someone enters a comment.
Are you sure $post[field6] is valid? Try entering something else and see if it works.
Yes, it's valid. Doublechecked.
And this is not valid - {vb:raw post[field7]} - it's {vb:raw post.field7}
OK, I'll change that, although it doesn't seem likely that's creating the errors, does it?
--------------- Added 1282234229 at 1282234229 ---------------
Examples of pages with errors:
http://forum.psychlinks.ca/content.php?r=240-Moving-to-a-new-server/edit
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
http://forum.psychlinks.ca/content/240-moving-to-a-new-server.html#new_comment
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21T
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in [path]/includes/class_postbit.php(321) : eval()'d code on line 21
--------------- Added 1282235618 at 1282235618 ---------------
OK. The errors also show on the actual article page: e.g., http://forum.psychlinks.ca/content/240-moving-to-a-new-server.html
They do NOT show on the CMS Home page.
Other information:
Reported elsewhere and still no fix yet for this - it just occurred to me that it might be related rather than a separate issue: Articles created or promoted from forum threads show as Unpublished although all the correct checks are there to make it Published.
Lynne
08-19-2010, 10:23 PM
I can't think of why you would get those errors on those pages when the hook isn't even being called on those pages in default vbulletin (at least not in 4.0.6). Have you tried turning off ALL other plugins/products except the CMS and your product and seeing if you still get the error?
Have you tried commenting out lines of the code to figure out which one it is having problems with?
djbaxter
08-20-2010, 01:25 AM
Thanks, Lynne. Your comments pointed me in the right direction.
I made some changes in the plug-ins but was still seeing errors. I don't fully understand why but went looking for other products and plugins that might be attaching to postbit hooks. I found an old 3.x add-on (product) that was working fine in the forums but had never been tried in CMS. When I disabled that, the errors disappeared, so obviously there was a conflict at that hook location.
Lynne
08-20-2010, 03:28 AM
Glad you found it. :)
djbaxter
08-20-2010, 04:06 AM
This was the culprit in my case: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=150761
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.