PDA

View Full Version : $threadid in navbar?


ThorstenA
08-04-2010, 09:29 PM
How can I work with $threadid in the navbar template?

Lynne
08-05-2010, 01:00 AM
You would have to preregister the variable for use in that template. Cellarius wrote a really good article that you may be interested in - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide (https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078)

ThorstenA
08-05-2010, 09:54 AM
Thanks! This is what worked for me:

On showthread.php replace
$navbar = render_navbar_template($navbits);
with
$templater = vB_Template::create('navbar');

// Resolve the root segment
$templater->register('bbmenu', $vbulletin->options['bbmenu']);

$templater->register('ad_location', $GLOBALS['ad_location']);
$templater->register('foruminfo', $GLOBALS['foruminfo']);
$templater->register('navbar_reloadurl', $GLOBALS['navbar_reloadurl']);
$templater->register('thread', $thread);
$templater->register('navbits', $navbits);
$templater->register('notices', $GLOBALS['notices']);
$templater->register('notifications_menubits', $GLOBALS['notifications_menubits']);
$templater->register('notifications_total', $GLOBALS['notifications_total']);
$templater->register('pmbox', $GLOBALS['pmbox']);
$templater->register('return_link', $GLOBALS['return_link']);
$templater->register('template_hook', $GLOBALS['template_hook']);

$navbar = $templater->render();

ThorstenA
08-19-2010, 09:07 PM
Notice: For working with the $show variable array, you need to put the $navbar creation code in showthread.php after the $show variables are set.

Boofo
08-19-2010, 10:20 PM
Why don't you just preRegsiter the variable in the hook? No need to replace code in the php file.

vB_Template::preRegister('navbar', array('thread' => $thread));

ThorstenA
08-20-2010, 11:21 PM
Why don't you just preRegsiter the variable in the hook? No need to replace code in the php file.

vB_Template::preRegister('navbar', array('thread' => $thread));

Great idea! Thanks for your help!

In this particular case I am happy to have it with the file edit as I have put the navbar template code below the part, where the $show variables are set. But I know, I may create the $show variables in a plugin, too. Just think that the 4.0.x releases are very few, so file edits are okay for me now :)

Boofo
08-20-2010, 11:34 PM
File edits are a thing of the past and not necessary anymore. But to each his own.

ThorstenA
08-20-2010, 11:40 PM
File edits are a thing of the past and not necessary anymore. But to each his own.

Despite what I am doing in this case, I couldn't agree with you more :)