PDA

View Full Version : Populating a field defined in 'User Profile Field Manager'


kharmer
07-29-2010, 01:09 PM
Hi all,

I am working on an API to allow an external site to create and update accounts in vB4.

All is working fine when creating and updating accounts with default fields like username/password/email.

However, we have some custom fields defined in the 'User Profile Field Manager'; they are named field1/field2.../field5 etc.

This is part of the code that falls over when attempting to create an account including a custom field:


// init user datamanager class
$newuser =& datamanager_init('User', $vbulletin, ERRTYPE_ARRAY);

// set username
$newuser->set('username', $username, true);

// set email
$newuser->set('email', $email, true);

// set password
$newuser->set('password', $password, true);

// set xxx
$newuser->set('field5', $xxx, true); // Custom field defined from 'User Profile Field Manager'


I have read about the data managers but am not sure what DM model I should be referencing when trying to save to this custom field.

Could anyone please advise.

Kind regards,
Kris...

Lynne
07-29-2010, 02:12 PM
If you want the datamanager to update a field, you need to first make sure it is in the datamanager array - in this case the one for the User datamanager (in class_dm_user.php). You'll have to add it to that array $validfields there. You'll want to read the code for the fields that go into the usertextfield table since they go into a separate table and are treated specially and you will have to do the same with your field5 (it goes into the userfield table).

kharmer
07-30-2010, 07:55 AM
Thanks Lynne for the pointer; I think I've done it correctly as it is working. ;o)

Cheers,
Kharmer...