Log in

View Full Version : plugin cannot set a variable for use with footer ...


shri
07-28-2010, 11:22 AM
I have this piece of code. The header works ok, the footer does not.

For some reason the $RightWidth variable does not seem to get set in the footer template.


if (stristr($_SERVER['REQUEST_URI'], 'calendar') === FALSE) {
$MainWidth = '73%';
$RightWidth = '23%';
} else {
$MainWidth = '100%';
$RightWidth = '0%';
}

vB_Template::preRegister('header',array('MainWidth ' => $MainWidth));
vB_Template::preRegister('footer',array('RightWidt h' => $RightWidth));


Any ideas?

Lynne
07-28-2010, 02:55 PM
Could be you are using a hook that is evaled after the footer is evaled and thus the footer can't get the variable.

shri
07-28-2010, 03:00 PM
Have turned debug on and used start_init and global_start ...

I've worked around this for now with a conditional that checks for the calendar script. Not idea... but for now, I'll have to live with this.

Some of the posts indicate that the footer might be unmodifable.

Lynne
07-28-2010, 03:02 PM
You know, you could probably just use THIS_SCRIPT:
if (THIS_SCRIPT == 'calendar')
....

shri
08-02-2010, 03:59 PM
That is fine.. but it is a pain when you want variable width columns depending on the scripts.

Does anyone have ideas why variables might not be working? Turning of data store caches (xcache and filestore) to not seem to change the problem.