PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to Pub Suite broke a few things


obscurecloud
04-26-2010, 06:03 PM
I just upgraded to Pub Suite and got to the point where support wouldn't help me any more.

The problem is that the blog.php, search.php and entry.php are showing white pages in some situations. The forums and CMS have no noticeable issues other than search.php.
The site www.fronttowardsgamer.com
The blog.php will display with certain variables attached to the URL (do=bloglist for example) but not others.
I've isolated the problem to be a plugin that displays the Wordpress header

ob_start();
include('../wp-load.php');
include('../wp-content/themes/mystique/header2.php');
$globalHeader= ob_get_contents();
ob_end_clean();

$preRegister['globalHeader'] = $globalHeader;
vB_Template::preRegister('header', $preRegister);

With this added to the header tempalte

{vb:raw $globalHeader}

When I disable the plugin, blog.php seems to work just fine. I've been through the troubleshooting for white pages. I need to be able to display the WP header and need the blog to work as that is why we upgraded.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated.

--------------- Added 1272316328 at 1272316328 ---------------

blog.php?do=bloglist works fine but
blog.php gives me a white page.

search.php?searchid=4381 (what's new link) gives me a white page
search.php?do=process works just fine.

What about the plugin would make this happen?

I disabled the CMS and Blog plugins and still get the white pages.

Paul M
04-26-2010, 10:24 PM
Do you have error reporting disabled in php ? Sounds like you should be seeing an error message rather than the blank page.

obscurecloud
04-26-2010, 11:15 PM
error reporting is on.
Something is breaking it before anything is sent. I can't figure out what.
Here are a few things I have found.
If I do a print_r() on $_REQUEST I get it sent.
I put that in the WP header and also the plugin above.
In the forums I see the result from both headers. When I click on the blog tab, I only see the print_r result from the plugin above and white page.

If I add this code to blog.php under the comment **pick something to do** I get the display from the blog tab, but not any other links (blog post display, blogs by user, etc)

if (empty($_GET)){$_GET['do']='list';}



--------------- Added 1272334131 at 1272334131 ---------------

Problem solved!!
I'll post an update in case anyone else has the same problem

The problem seemed to come from Wordpress combining the $_* variables. Specifically the $_REQUEST variable.

Here is how I fixed it.
My forum called wp-load.php and me template header.
wp-load calls wp-config
wp-config calls wp-settings

I duplicated all 3 of these, renamed them vb-* and adjusted the vB plugin to call the new vb-load.php.

In vb-settings i commented out the following lines.
595. include_once(WP_PLUGIN_DIR . '/' . $plugin);
This does not affect my problem, just reduces some overhead that was unnecessary on the forum pages.
616. do_action('plugins_loaded');
Again for the overhead
637. $_REQUEST = array_merge($_GET, $_POST);
This is what fixed the problem.