View Full Version : How do I add php code to my forum?
thebwit
02-04-2010, 01:26 AM
Ok I have figured out where I want to place the code after going through all the templates. The code basically just pulls data from a db that is not part of the vbulletin and I need to show it. I searched for ob_start(); but that just said to use a widget and I am not using the vb cms just the bb.
So the question is, inside a specific template, how do I add code such as:
<?php
$sql = "select items from table";
$mm = mysql_query($sql);
while ($ms = mysql_fetch_array($mm)) {
echo "WHAT I WANT ECHOED";
}
?>
Thanks in advance.
BBR-APBT
02-04-2010, 02:07 AM
it would not be echo you would use a variable.
So it would be like this:
<?php
$sql = "select items from table";
$mm = mysql_query($sql);
while ($ms = mysql_fetch_array($mm)) {
$var = "WHAT I WANT ECHOED";
}
?>
Remember to look here to register the variable.
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=228078
Then in the template you would use:
{vb:raw var}
thebwit
02-05-2010, 03:50 PM
Ok I am getting the following error:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in
/home/xxx/public_html/forum/includes/class_core.php(3904) : eval()'d code on line 1
Here's what I have done:
created a new template called mystuff and it just says the following:
{vb:raw mystuff}
Created a plugin that has the following code in it:
$sql = "select id,headline from mystuff limit 0,10";
$rm = mysql_query($sql);
$li = "";
while ($rs = mysql_fetch_array($rm)) {
$li .=$rs['id']."-".$rs['headline']."<br />";
}
$templater = vB_Template::create('mystuff');
$templater->register('mystuff', $li);
$templater->render();
I should also note that I have the hook set at parse_templates (not sure if that is correct)
All I want to do is take the contest of the variable mystuff and be able to call it from within another template (not the mystuff template)
What am I doing wrong?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.