View Full Version : Fatal Error
DAIR1
01-02-2010, 11:32 AM
This sometimes appear whenever a member attempts to read PMs or reply to threads.
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 8388608 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 737280 bytes) in /home/sites/mypage.co.uk/public_html/forums/private.php(2167) : eval()'d code on line 211
I'm going to check out this private file now.
Have any of you received this message before?
snakes1100
01-02-2010, 11:47 AM
php is trying to allocate more memory than its allowed when executing that file.
edit php.ini & raise the "memory_limit"
DAIR1
01-02-2010, 11:54 AM
php is trying to allocate more memory than its allowed when executing that file.
edit php.ini & raise the "memory_limit"
Thanks for replying.
Should this not refresh itself?
What would you suggest i set it to?
--------------- Added 1262440856 at 1262440856 ---------------
Im inside the private php file now
// ############################### start download pm ###############################
// downloads selected private messages to a file type of user's choice
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'downloadpm')
{
if (($current_memory_limit = ini_size_to_bytes(@ini_get('memory_limit'))) < 128 * 3024 * 3024 AND $current_memory_limit > 0)
{
@ini_set('memory_limit', 128 * 1024 * 1024);
That is what the limit currently reads. However, chaning it still raises the same message.
snakes1100
01-02-2010, 12:17 PM
What does php.ini state the memory_limit is set at?
DAIR1
01-02-2010, 12:20 PM
Hmm I fear im in the wrong file. Where is this php.ini file?
--------------- Added 1262442153 at 1262442153 ---------------
I think i may have found it.
snakes1100
01-02-2010, 12:29 PM
Depends on the OS & there can be more than one, also depends if your on a vhosted server, as you may be allowed local override, which that case, it should be in your root/public_html dir, then just set it there.
A info.php file will tell you what configuration file its using and its location as well, at the top of the info file.
memory_limit = 128M
via ssh:
updatedb
find / -name php.ini -print
nano /etc/php.ini
change variable
restart crapache
DAIR1
01-02-2010, 12:31 PM
Nope cant find it :(
--------------- Added 1262442721 at 1262442721 ---------------
Depends on the OS & there can be more than one, also depends if your on a vhosted server, as you may be allowed local override, which that case, it should be in your root/public_html dir, then just set it there.
A info.php file will tell you what configuration file its using and its location as well, at the top of the info file.
memory_limit = 128M
via ssh:
updatedb
find / -name php.ini -print
nano /etc/php.ini
change variable
restart crapache
Thanks I shall look into this now.
--------------- Added 1262443690 at 1262443690 ---------------
I see. I dont currently have asscess to the ssh. I do have it though. Ill have to get in touch with my host.
Thanks
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.