PDA

View Full Version : iFrames


arturocivit
12-01-2009, 10:49 PM
Hi there!

I installed a copy of vBulletin on this server http://theblackthorn.co.uk/forum.php

What I did was to create an iframe and call the entire forum, so, that works nicely, however, if you look at the home page: http://theblackthorn.co.uk/index.php I'm "calling" the latest posts, but they are pointing to the forum directly, example, they point to:

http://theblackthorn.co.uk/forum/search.php?do=getnew
or
http://theblackthorn.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=6

Do you know if exists a way to point to where the iframe is? just to not break the entire structure, if I click in the home page last post it should be opened in the iframe area, is this possible?

Thanks so much !!

A.-

kh99
12-01-2009, 11:21 PM
I tried it and it does open in the same frame, which is what usually happens. Maybe I'm missing what the problem is (or maybe it's a browser-specific thing).

arturocivit
12-01-2009, 11:35 PM
I tried it and it does open in the same frame, which is what usually happens. Maybe I'm missing what the problem is (or maybe it's a browser-specific thing).

hi there, thanks for the reply, well, yes, if you are here: http://theblackthorn.co.uk/forum.php

And click on any link within that "iframed" Bulletin, then, yes, everything will work nice, but if you're here:

http://theblackthorn.co.uk/index.php

And from the Latest Posts from our Forums ( Box to your right below the big banner and social buttons ) and from there click on any of the links there, you'll see whats happening.

Thanks a lot!

A-

kh99
12-02-2009, 12:07 AM
Ah, I see now. Sorry.

I think you can give the iframe a name like <iframe name="somename".... then make it the target of the links with <a target="somename" href=...

arturocivit
12-02-2009, 12:27 AM
Ah, I see now. Sorry.

I think you can give the iframe a name like <iframe name="somename".... then make it the target of the links with <a target="somename" href=...

Yep, seems like you're right!

However, I have a problem, if I understood correctly it should be like:

<a target="FrameName" href="/forum/search.php?do=getnew">Latest Active Posts</a>

( Not really sure if this will work, the dicument that handles the forums is called forum.php and within that document I'm calling the vBulletin with:

<iframe src="http://theblackthorn.co.uk/forum/" width="910" height="800" frameborder="0"></iframe> )

However, how to achieve that with this:

document.writeln("<a href=\"/forum/showthread.php?t="+threads[x].threadid+"\">"+threads[x].title+"</a> &nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;(Posted By: "+threads[x].poster+")<br />");

Just with adding the target before the href will work?

Thanks so much!

A.-

kh99
12-02-2009, 12:49 AM
I'm not sure I follow, but are you saying that the iframe you are targeting isn't on the same page as the links? Then no, I don't think that will work (although I could be wrong). I think you might need some way to pass the target url as a parameter and then set the frame url to it using javascript, or something like that. (Possibly time for someone who knows what they're doing to help you...)

arturocivit
12-02-2009, 01:03 AM
I'm not sure I follow, but are you saying that the iframe you are targeting isn't on the same page as the links? Then no, I don't think that will work (although I could be wrong). I think you might need some way to pass the target url as a parameter and then set the frame url to it using javascript, or something like that. (Possibly time for someone who knows what they're doing to help you...)

Yep I think you're right.... well, I'll try with what you said, thanks so much!

A.

kh99
12-02-2009, 01:16 AM
...just to be clear, when I say "time for someone who know's what they're doing to help", I mean someone else here, just not me since I don't know....(didn't mean it to sound like you don't know what you're doing :)).