PDA

View Full Version : If no thread reply, then show custom message


rockon
11-04-2009, 02:35 PM
Hey guys,

I'd like to have a custom message shown below the first post of a showthread page if no one has replied to the thread yet.

I believe it would be something like this in English:

If there's a #2 post then show it and all others following.

Else, show a message saying "No one has repleid yet - be the first!"

Though, I don't have a clue and wouldn;t know how to do this. I believe it would be in the showthread template?

Any one know how to do this?

Thanks!

LuisMontemayor
11-04-2009, 03:13 PM
I don't know if this might help:

<if condition="$post[postcount] == 1">
<else />
</if>

That conditional will work only with the first post, but won't know if there are any more posts. Wish I could help you better.

rockon
11-04-2009, 03:26 PM
Yeh that sprung to my mind but don't think it can be used for this.

rockon
11-04-2009, 05:26 PM
Wouldn't it need to be 2 or greater. Possibly even greater than 1.

We need an expert! :)

I'm not even sure where the if statement should sit if we conjure something up.

Can't see where in the showthread, if it's meant to go there... it's past me. And I have the replies templated differently to the main thread using the "if postcount=1".

--------------- Added 1257410245 at 1257410245 ---------------

sorry to bump but has anyone with more knowledge got any idea? I'd love to have this functionality.

Thanks!

valdet
11-05-2009, 09:48 AM
OK this one is working for me so far. It was too simple as you suggested.

<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(showthread)) AND $GLOBALS[threadinfo][replycount] >= 1">

Not sure if it's fully correct, but in my case if there are no replies to first post I can hide the ads of last post to show up below ads from first post.

rockon
11-05-2009, 09:57 AM
How would this be written? And would it be on the postbit_legacy template or the showthread template?

I tried:



<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(showthread)) AND $GLOBALS[threadinfo][replycount] >= 1">

ALL POSTBIT REPLY CONTENT

<else />

ggg

</if>



and also



<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(showthread)) AND $GLOBALS[threadinfo][replycount] >= 1">

ggg

<else />

ALL POSTBIT REPLY CONTENT

</if>



But neither worked. (probably wrong) - one of them replaced each reply with ggg and the other did nothing.

--------------- Added 1257440976 at 1257440976 ---------------

Maybe, if anyone knows how to make an if statement that says:

IF a certain threads reply count is less than 1

Show custom code

ELSE show replies



??

valdet
11-05-2009, 03:10 PM
I added that code in postbit_legacy template, just above the attachments area


<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(showthread)) AND $GLOBALS[threadinfo][replycount] >= 1">

Anything goes in here

</if>
<if condition="$show['attachments']">

I hope that helps.

rockon
11-05-2009, 03:22 PM
I managed to get it working myself :)

I used this:

<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(showthread)) AND $GLOBALS[threadinfo][replycount] <= 1">

<table style="margin-top: 8px;" width="100%" class="tborder">
<tr>
<td align="center">
No one has replied to this thread yet. Post a reply now.
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</if>

You can see that it doesn't show here:

http://www.rockonpublishing.co.uk/showthread.php?t=14

But it does here:

http://www.rockonpublishing.co.uk/showthread.php?t=15

:D Thanks for the help!