View Full Version : how to create custom user fields with code?
almannai
10-14-2009, 04:15 PM
I've created a product that requires the admin to create two text box custom user fields before installing this plugin. So to make it easier to install it for everybody, is the their a way to create custom user field with code in the plugin it self without the need to create it manually?
If yes how?
Thanks in advance
--------------- Added 1255606581 at 1255606581 ---------------
12 views with no reply.
Does this mean it is not possible!
ZeepySea
10-16-2009, 12:25 AM
Add the fields with an ALTER table query. I have yet to make a plugin, but there should be a way to create the tables or fields that you need.
Warlord
10-16-2009, 02:01 AM
Don't take this to the bank or anything, but it might be able to point you in the right direction. I think it should look something like this....
$vbulletin->db->query_write("INSERT INTO `". TABLE_PREFIX ."user` `EXTRA_FIELD_NAME`");
almannai
10-16-2009, 06:51 PM
Thanks guys that is really a great input..
I think this should work for a text box field <<not sure though
$vbulletin->db->query("ALTER TABLE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "user ADD mynewfield MEDIUMTEXT DEFAULT 'mytxt' NOT NULL");
If that is not correct please advice..
But my real need is to add a single select dropdown list as a custom userfield in the install code. Anybody can help on this?
Regards,
Warlord
10-17-2009, 01:42 AM
I would find a hack that alters SQL tables and edit it in Cute FTP and see how they did it.
almannai
10-17-2009, 06:55 AM
thnx for ur help Warlord....
looking forward to see how it is done
almannai
10-19-2009, 03:31 PM
===========================
Anybody can help !!
I looked to see how it is done in profilefield.php but could not understand how it is done..
Regards,
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.