Log in

View Full Version : Help with a PHP file


reotto
07-09-2009, 04:57 AM
I have created the following PHP file, and I cannot get the results to return corrrectly. The echo command is returning a value of 1. I have run the query manually from the PHP console, and it returns the correct value. I figure I made a dumb mistake or I am not connecting the DB correctly becuase if I manually add the value at the end of the http line it shows correctly. Here is my code for the query:

<?php

function fetch_team_schedule_id($schedule_id)

{
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

global $db, $vba_options, $vbulletin, $vbphrase;

$scheduleid = $db->query("
SELECT teamid
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "fbschedule
INNER JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "style
WHERE fbschedule.teamname=style.title AND fbschedule.teamname='Iowa Style'
");
}

$remote_schedule_file = file_get_contents("http://www.website.com/schedule.php?id={$scheduleid['teamid']}");
$xml = new SimpleXMLElement($remote_schedule_file);

echo (print $remote_schedule_file)

?>

Dismounted
07-09-2009, 06:03 AM
Do you just run this file by itself? If so, it's not going to work, as no vBulletin functions will be available there (as global.php is not included).

reotto
07-10-2009, 05:29 AM
OK I basically started over did all of the code from scratch, but now I have a new problem. I created the file and tested it by directly accessing the file via http://mysite/file.php. It ran perfect. Now I have pulled it in as a module, and after updating the directory to global.php to make it work I figured I would be fine. Now, however, it appears that my query is no longer pulling the value needed.

FYI...I am using CMPS as my index page which is where I am trying to create the module. The code is below.
<?php
// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'adv_index');

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once(DIR . '/global.php');

$vbulletin->input->clean_array_gpc('r', array(
'teamname' => TYPE_STR,
'logolink' => TYPE_STR,
'teamid' => TYPE_STR,
'title' => TYPE_STR,
));

$scheduleid = $db->query_first_slave("
SELECT *
FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "fbschedule AS fbschedule
INNER JOIN " . TABLE_PREFIX . "style
WHERE fbschedule.teamname = '$style[title]'
");

echo '<link type="text/css" rel="stylesheet" href="fbschedule_style.css"/>';

$remote_schedule_file = file_get_contents("http://www.site-with-PHP-xml.php?id={$scheduleid[teamid]}");
$xml = new SimpleXMLElement($remote_schedule_file);

?>

Lynne
07-10-2009, 03:24 PM
Where is the title coming from in this where statement:
WHERE fbschedule.teamname = '$style[title]'

Nowhere have you defined it.

reotto
07-10-2009, 05:28 PM
Where is the title coming from in this where statement:
WHERE fbschedule.teamname = '$style[title]'

Nowhere have you defined it.

This would be the title of a style from the basic installation of vBulletin. If you look in the style table in vB, the title would be like "Default Style."

What do you mean defined?

Lynne
07-10-2009, 07:56 PM
What do you mean defined?
Can you actually spit out that variable? If not, it isn't defined. By defined I mean that the code, somewhere, needs to say "style[title] = whatever' before you go and try to use it somewhere. If no code defines it prior to you trying to use it, then it isn't available for your use.

reotto
07-10-2009, 09:02 PM
Lynne,

I get what you are asking, and when I originally coded this page I forgot to add the value for "Default Style" into the table fbschedule so it wasn't returning anything. When I plugged in a dummy value it started working so I know that it a valid value in vB.

I can even run the native PHP when I access it here:
http://www.sportssoundoff.com/forums/modules/schedule.php

When I try to insert it as a module to display it on my front page it dies.

FYI...when I originally thought about implementing this I wanted to use the AJAX GUI hack, and I know when I make a call to that page it displayed OK as well.

Any other ideas?

Marco van Herwaarden
07-14-2009, 11:08 AM
PS A title can contain special charachters like ', and should be escaped before used in a query.