PDA

View Full Version : Adding a page break


j1mmy
06-21-2009, 05:27 PM
Take a look at this: http://img2.pict.com/99/e4/27/fe9639a84dc7b5624164922e7b/3Hiq8/capture.png

I am basically trying to add a page break or some form of line separation from the top line of the vBulletin Message header and the navbar, as you can see they're touching.

But looking at the templates, I'm having difficulty in identifying where to put it.

Dismounted
06-22-2009, 06:26 AM
One of the STANDARD_ERROR templates.

j1mmy
06-22-2009, 12:42 PM
I've put a </p> in the STANDARD_ERROR template but nothing is happening, is this right

<title>$pagetitle</title>
$headinsert
</head>
<body>
$header
<if condition="$navbar">
$navbar
<else />
<br /><br /><br />
</p>
</if>

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="70%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="tcat">$vbphrase[vbulletin_message]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div align="$stylevar[left]">

<if condition="$show['permission_error']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
<form action="login.php?do=login" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password, vb_login_md5password, vb_login_md5password_utf, $show[nopasswordempty])">

Lynne
06-22-2009, 03:46 PM
Adding </p> into some html is not proper html at all. And, you added it to the <else /> part of your statement which would not be correct either since it is obvious the navbar is showing. So, if you want a break after your navbar, you would need to add it into the part of your if statement that resolves to the $navbar

j1mmy
06-22-2009, 05:19 PM
What do you mean by a statement that resolves to the $navbar?

<title>$pagetitle</title>
$headinsert
</head>
<body>
$header
<if condition="$navbar">
$navbar
<else />
<br /><br /><br />
<p></p>
</if>

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="70%" align="center">
<tr>
<td class="tcat">$vbphrase[vbulletin_message]</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<div class="panel">
<div align="$stylevar[left]">

<if condition="$show['permission_error']">
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_md5.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
<form action="login.php?do=login" method="post" onsubmit="md5hash(vb_login_password, vb_login_md5password, vb_login_md5password_utf, $show[nopasswordempty])">

Lynne
06-22-2009, 05:36 PM
What do you mean by a statement that resolves to the $navbar?
It looks to me like the navbar code is showing on that page - is it not? That means that this if statement is showing the navbar:

<if condition="$navbar">
$navbar
<else />
<br /><br /><br />
<p></p>
</if>

And yet you are adding a space to the <else /> part which is not resolved if the navbar is present. You need to add the break to the true part of the statement.

j1mmy
06-22-2009, 06:07 PM
<if condition="$navbar">
$navbar
<p></p>
<else />
<br /><br /><br />
</if>

This correct?

--------------- Added 1245704285 at 1245704285 ---------------

Okay, that appeared to have worked. Thanks. But I don't know if I have to do it to all the other standard error templates?

Lynne
06-22-2009, 08:02 PM
Okay, that appeared to have worked. Thanks. But I don't know if I have to do it to all the other standard error templates?
If the space isn't there and you want it to be, then yes you do. The other option would be to add it to the bottom of the navbar template.