Log in

View Full Version : Please help me fix a minor bug in my mod


Chadi
05-04-2009, 11:37 PM
I have released this mod a few weeks ago:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=211939

First...

I can't figure out how to get the # to show all threads that begin with a number. I basically want to add a "#" option so that it displays all threads that begin with a number. Problem is, I have no idea what the code/link is supposed to look like.

Fix minor bug...

I've been reported of a minor bug by two installers of my mod. The problem is that when a letter is clicked, it works fine but until you click another page number, it'll lose the effect or "criteria" as some call it, of the letter clicked.

For example, I click the letter A, it'll show the threads that begin with the letter A (which is right), 20 per page by VB's default setting. If you now click any other page number such as page 2 or 3, it'll show the default thread listing/view, for that page - completely losing the criteria of selecting a specific letter.

Thanks in advance for the help :)

Chadi
05-11-2009, 02:13 PM
Would appreciate a hand on this please. Thanks.

Chadi
06-04-2009, 12:56 AM
Would appreciate help on this. Thank you :)

Dylanblitz
06-04-2009, 06:35 AM
The first part is easy, not sure how to do the second part, although I know what's wrong.

You want to stay away from using # as a value. I would add a line to the style like this

<a rel="nofollow" href="forumdisplay.php?f=$foruminfo[forumid]&letter=num">#</a></td>

Then change the plugin to be this

if($letter == 'num')
{
$hook = " AND LEFT(thread.title, 1) REGEXP ('[0-9]')";
} else {
$hook = " AND LEFT(thread.title, 1) = '$letter'";
}

The second part is happening because you are not adding the letter to the link. You need to add it to the pagenav, probably through the pagenav_complete hook, not sure exactly how you would do it though.

Another thing wrong I see. The page count is off when you select a letter. The page count is still counting all threads, even if they're not shown. So you might have 8 pages shown up top even if you only have 4 threads. I'm not sure if there's a hook to modify the total page count.

Sorry I couldn't help you more.

Chadi
06-04-2009, 12:06 PM
Thanks. Your plugin code does not work though, tried it and nothing works.

Dylanblitz
06-04-2009, 04:30 PM
Hmm, it works on my dev forum, are you sure it's in there right? I've edited your product xml, try this out.

Chadi
06-05-2009, 04:04 AM
Odd that works. Thanks Dylan.

Hopefully someone else can figure out the pagination problem.