PDA

View Full Version : How to use debug mode


nickh
04-28-2009, 08:48 PM
G'day folks. I'm writing my first plugin/product, and am trying to figure out how to use vBulletin's "debug mode".

After enabling it, the only things I see are:
1) A tiny bit of database output at the bottom of each admin page;
2) A table of debug information at the bottom of each public page.

How does one get debug messages to be displayed somewhere on vBulletin pages, or should I simply write those debug messages to a file?

Thanks,
Nick

Dismounted
04-29-2009, 07:01 AM
What are you trying to achieve with debug mode?

nickh
04-29-2009, 12:27 PM
I'd like to display custom debug messages.

What is debug mode for?

How is debug mode meant to be used?

Lynne
04-29-2009, 01:57 PM
You can add your own debug info into the page, but you don't need debug mode to be on for it. The vb debug mode is for debugging the vb system - it will show you all the plugins, templates, phrases, and hooks used on each page (and other stuff) and all the queries that are made for that page. You can add some stuff into the dropdown (I think) by typing this into your php code:
DEVDEBUG(' Your message here');

nickh
04-29-2009, 07:47 PM
Thanks, Lynne. That was easy.