PDA

View Full Version : Banner Problem - Please Help


droid101
04-08-2009, 10:21 PM
Hey there,

I'm running ads from Adbrite mixed with Google on my site. When in Chrome or Firefox, they look normal - banner ad and the little "Your Ad Here" bar on the side.

However, in IE, that bar is under the banner, making it twice as big.

Go to my home page with IE to see: http://constantcognizance.com

It happens with the banner at the top and bottom of the page.

This is the code for the top banner:

<!-- Begin: AdBrite, Generated: 2009-04-05 3:15:45 -->
<script type="text/javascript">
var AdBrite_Title_Color = '0000FF';
var AdBrite_Text_Color = '000000';
var AdBrite_Background_Color = 'FFFFFF';
var AdBrite_Border_Color = 'CCCCCC';
var AdBrite_URL_Color = '008000';
try{var AdBrite_Iframe=window.top!=window.self?2:1;var AdBrite_Referrer=document.referrer==''?document.lo cation:document.referrer;AdBrite_Referrer=encodeUR IComponent(AdBrite_Referrer);}catch(e){var AdBrite_Iframe='';var AdBrite_Referrer='';}
</script>
<span style="white-space:nowrap;"><script type="text/javascript">document.write(String.fromCharCode(60,83,67,82,73, 80,84));document.write(' src="http://ads.adbrite.com/mb/text_group.php?sid=1113947&zs=3732385f3930&ifr='+AdBrite_Iframe+'&ref='+AdBrite_Referrer+'" type="text/javascript">');document.write(String.fromCharCode(60,47,83,67, 82,73,80,84,62));</script>
<a target="_top" href="http://www.adbrite.com/mb/commerce/purchase_form.php?opid=1113947&afsid=1"><img src="http://files.adbrite.com/mb/images/adbrite-your-ad-here-leaderboard.gif" style="background-color:#CCCCCC;border:none;padding:0;margin:0;" alt="Your Ad Here" width="14" height="90" border="0" /></a></span>
<!-- End: AdBrite -->

I don't know what I need to adjust so that it doesn't do that. Would it be in this code, or in the CSS somewhere? I'm at a loss.

Thanks.

--------------- Added 1239289329 at 1239289329 ---------------

Here is the response I got from Adbrite:

While you already have a Firefox specific css, you may want to increase the width on the IE specific CSS which should resolve the problem. AdBrite does not provide advanced coding support at this time.
I'm not sure what to adjust to fix this issue. Any thoughts?

Mr-Moo
04-09-2009, 05:04 PM
It appears that you have a conflict with your CSS. If you paste your advertisement code (alone) into notepad and save the file as HTML then launch in IE it displays properly.

This tells me that the coding above it does not get along well.

Please let me know if this helps you.

// Edit //

Woo! My 100th post!

droid101
04-09-2009, 06:31 PM
It appears that you have a conflict with your CSS. If you paste your advertisement code (alone) into notepad and save the file as HTML then launch in IE it displays properly.

This tells me that the coding above it does not get along well.

Please let me know if this helps you.

Thanks for the feedback.

I tried pasting the whole footer template as you said above, and it displays properly.

Could it be something in the header or headinclude template that is trickling down and affecting everything? It's tough to know what I'm looking for.

Mr-Moo
04-09-2009, 07:04 PM
That is the tough part. Your best bet is to eliminate all the code (save a backup) and start from square one. Start placing blocks of code back until the error displays again. This will allow you to narrow it down to a specific snippet of code and we will better be able to support you.

Currently I don't have the time (or the knowledge) to sift through all your code and give you better guidance.

Good luck, hope to see a response :)

Seven Skins
04-09-2009, 08:00 PM
You have many tags missing or they are at the wrong place.

There are 236 Errors, 43 warning(s)

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fconstantcognizance.com%2Fin dex.php&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0

Fix them one by one and that should solve your problem.

.

droid101
04-09-2009, 09:55 PM
That is the tough part. Your best bet is to eliminate all the code (save a backup) and start from square one. Start placing blocks of code back until the error displays again. This will allow you to narrow it down to a specific snippet of code and we will better be able to support you.

Currently I don't have the time (or the knowledge) to sift through all your code and give you better guidance.

Good luck, hope to see a response :)Thanks, having a plan of attack is better than nothing. I really had no idea where to start.

You have many tags missing or they are at the wrong place.

There are 236 Errors, 43 warning(s)

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fconstantcognizance.com%2Fin dex.php&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0

Fix them one by one and that should solve your problem.

.

I'll go through there and see if anything helps.