PDA

View Full Version : Newthread to optional forums in dropdown


Butcher
03-26-2009, 05:12 PM
Ok what I was wanting was the possiblity of creating another newthread.php (newthread2.php for example) that would allow you to select which forum you wanted your thread to go into.

So basically a central point for creating newthreads. ie; not going into a certain forum and hitting newthread. This newthread template would have a dropdown box with the forums listed. Not all forums mind, just the ones set via the newthread2 template. You would simply add the forum iD's of the forums intended to go in this drop down box.

What would be the easiest way to implement this?

Lynne
03-26-2009, 05:17 PM
Have you done a search yet? I'm pretty sure I've seen a mod like this before. (make sure to search "all mods" )

Butcher
03-26-2009, 06:21 PM
yeah have tried but it's finding what the mods been called.
Searched newthread and got nothing

i'll keep looking though

--------------- Added 1238109489 at 1238109489 ---------------

well found nothing :(

However i've bashed on by myself and came up the idea of making a page with check boxes on. the value for these checkboxes are the forum id's. But how do i get this value onto the end of a url once hitting the submit button.
Ok that doesn't read very well. Let me try explain better.

In my template i start with this
<form action="newthread.php?do=newthread&f=" method="post">

Now after f= i want the forum id to be placed from the value of a checkbox.
Here's the code used for the check boxes
<input name="forumchoice[]" value="40" type="checkbox">
value 40 is forum id 40

at the end I have
<input name="forumchoice[]" value="Go" type="submit" class="button" /></form>

hope someone understand what i'm trying to do

cheers