View Full Version : Forum Home Enhancements - Another Forum Tabs
vibedream
03-21-2009, 10:00 PM
Another Forum Tabs
http://vibe.vn/photo/u1a205p2725/tab.png
Installtion
- Upload vibetab.gif to images/
- Edit template / Additional CSS Definitions add :
#vibetab
{
margin:5px 0 0 0px;
height:29px;
font-weight:bold;
}
#vibetab a
{
color:white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 0% no-repeat;
text-decoration: none;
padding-left: 6px;
margin:0;
height:29px;
outline:0;
}
#vibetab a span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 0% no-repeat;
padding: 9px 12px 0 4px;
height:29px;
cursor: pointer;
}
#vibetab a, #vibetab a span
{
display: block;
float: left;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav
{
color: black;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 44% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 50% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover
{
color: white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 89% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 100% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab ul
{
list-style: none;
padding: 0;
margin: 0;
}
#vibetab li
{
float: left;
margin: 0;
}
Add to template you want :
<div id="vibetab">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" id="active_menutopnav"><span>Portal</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Forum</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Article</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Mods</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Styles</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Graphic</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 1</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 2</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</ul>
</div>
DanTHEGREAT
03-22-2009, 12:06 PM
What does this mod actually do?
Sweeks
03-22-2009, 12:23 PM
I think what it does is fairly obvious. It is a form of navigation.
________
THE CIGAR BOSS (http://thecigarboss.com/)
ArnyVee
03-22-2009, 01:06 PM
Is there a demo to see the functionality of the tabbed approach?
Are the tabs below the logo at the top of the page? I've been trying to find this mod forever. An example as what I'm looking for is the tabs that vbulletin.org has on top of their page. does this mod do that????
i would like to add tabs on top of my page.
www.highdefjunkies.com
vibedream
03-22-2009, 09:22 PM
Are the tabs below the logo at the top of the page? I've been trying to find this mod forever. An example as what I'm looking for is the tabs that vbulletin.org has on top of their page. does this mod do that????
i would like to add tabs on top of my page.
www.highdefjunkies.com
http://vibe.vn/members/shine/albums/skinsshare/2760-demos.png
header template find :
<!--/ logo -->
add :
<div id="vibetab">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" id="active_menutopnav"><span>Portal</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Forum</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Article</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Mods</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Styles</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Graphic</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 1</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 2</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</ul>
</div>
If you want add to above navbar, navbar template find :
<!-- / breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
add bellow
<div id="vibetab">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" id="active_menutopnav"><span>Portal</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Forum</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Article</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Mods</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Styles</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Graphic</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 1</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 2</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</ul>
</div>
Change ur link.
That's what I'm looking for thanks man!
tipu sulthan
03-22-2009, 09:39 PM
look like good
That's what I'm looking for thanks man!
I use VBadvanced, so do I need to make any changes with those templates?
vibedream
03-22-2009, 10:21 PM
I use VBadvanced, so do I need to make any changes with those templates?
No problem, or header or navbar
How do you change the colors to fit your site. The green doesn't really mesh with my site.
Jasem
03-23-2009, 01:46 PM
Good work, thank you......
Installed
vibedream
03-23-2009, 04:11 PM
How do you change the colors to fit your site. The green doesn't really mesh with my site.
You need change green to white like active .
#vibetab a:hover
{
color: white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 44% no-repeat;
}
Doesn't look that bad at all...
www.highdefjunkies.com
SBlueman
03-24-2009, 06:19 AM
Is there a way to allow CSS to define the colors of the tab images instead of having to use the default .gif file? I have about 35 css defined skins on my site.
RobbieZ
03-24-2009, 07:10 AM
I like it. :D
Is there a way to allow CSS to define the colors of the tab images instead of having to use the default .gif file? I have about 35 css defined skins on my site.
That would be huge for me also. I tried to change the colors of the gif but couldn't get the colors rights.
SBlueman
03-28-2009, 03:06 AM
Is there a way to allow CSS to define the colors of the tab images instead of having to use the default .gif file? I have about 35 css defined skins on my site.
Just wondering if the author or anyone else knew the answer to this.
this would be great if it could be done as a auto template for us not so hot on editing templates im sure many people are looking for a mod like this
powerful_rogue
03-28-2009, 07:20 PM
Fantastic add on! Thank you!
Ive currently got this on top of the navbar - would there be an easy way to allign this in the center of the navbar?
forumsonsuz
03-28-2009, 07:28 PM
thank you
blackwolf062
03-29-2009, 01:50 PM
thanks installed works great.
for those who wanted different colours for buttons
although i only have one skin i change the button colours by using photo shop
SBlueman
03-29-2009, 02:40 PM
right....but I have about 35 css defined skins on my site. Does that mean I need to have 35 .gif files and edit the mod in each skin to call up each different color?
Brandon Sheley
03-30-2009, 12:53 AM
anyone know how I can kill the space under the tabs (http://forum.vbulletinsetup.com/index.php?styleid=20)?
JohorBahru
03-31-2009, 02:23 PM
how to set it aligned with the right side instead of left side??
Brandon Sheley
03-31-2009, 02:31 PM
how to set it aligned with the right side instead of left side??
edit the CSS, change "left" to "right"
that's what I did :up:
JohorBahru
03-31-2009, 03:56 PM
edit the CSS, change "left" to "right"
that's what I did :up: but I would still like to move it to the left a few pixels
thank you :)
powerful_rogue
04-18-2009, 11:09 AM
Seem to have a small problem with this in IE. Ive attatched a screenshot if anyone would be able to help!
Its the first tab, "Home" which dosent seem to display properly
oskqqqq
04-18-2009, 01:31 PM
installed but my active tab doesnt change.. pls help
this is my forum (http://www.kankaforum.gen.tr)
trickfly
04-18-2009, 06:07 PM
any screens or demo ?
powerful_rogue
04-21-2009, 02:31 PM
Seem to have a small problem with this in IE. Ive attatched a screenshot if anyone would be able to help!
Its the first tab, "Home" which dosent seem to display properly
Bump, Any help would be great. Shows fine in FF, just damn IE!
isatice
04-23-2009, 10:26 AM
Bump, Any help would be great. Shows fine in FF, just damn IE!
try this :
#vibetab
{
margin:5px 0 0 0px;
height:29px;
font-weight:bold;
}
#vibetab a
{
color:white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 0% no-repeat;
text-decoration: none;
padding-left: 6px;
margin:0;
height:29px;
outline:0;
}
#vibetab a span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 0% no-repeat;
padding: 9px 12px 0 4px;
height:20px;
cursor: pointer;
}
#vibetab a, #vibetab a span
{
display: block;
float: left;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav
{
color: black;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover
{
color: white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 89% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 89% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab ul
{
list-style: none;
padding: 0;
margin: 0;
}
#vibetab li
{
float: left;
margin: 0;
}
mrtroybaker
04-28-2009, 12:48 AM
Awsome man. Just great.
Is there a way to use an image? I tried to change the gif but nothing changed.
s2lo7
04-29-2009, 02:20 PM
good
DanielN24
04-30-2009, 01:49 AM
How would I make it so that when you click on it, it automatically loads without having to change to a new page..
Kinda like here
http://sportstwo.com/forums/
and
http://www.dailysportspages.com/forums/
powerful_rogue
05-05-2009, 01:44 PM
try this :
#vibetab
{
margin:5px 0 0 0px;
height:29px;
font-weight:bold;
}
#vibetab a
{
color:white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 0% no-repeat;
text-decoration: none;
padding-left: 6px;
margin:0;
height:29px;
outline:0;
}
#vibetab a span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 0% no-repeat;
padding: 9px 12px 0 4px;
height:20px;
cursor: pointer;
}
#vibetab a, #vibetab a span
{
display: block;
float: left;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav
{
color: black;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover
{
color: white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 89% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 89% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab ul
{
list-style: none;
padding: 0;
margin: 0;
}
#vibetab li
{
float: left;
margin: 0;
}
Hi,
Really sorry about not replying soon, ive been away for a bit.
Ive tried using the code above, but for some reason the text in the first tab still looks out of place in IE. Looks brillaint in FF, just not IE!
Any other tips you may have would be greatly appreciated!
PHILIPS-08
05-10-2009, 08:46 PM
I copy this code to navbar <div id="vibetab">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" id="active_menutopnav"><span>Portal</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Forum</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Article</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Mods</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Styles</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Graphic</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 1</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 2</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</ul>
</div>
after i save it i am viewing like this https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/05/124.jpg
any one please help..
powerful_rogue
05-11-2009, 01:13 PM
I had similar problem. Its to do with the image link in the css
EG -
#vibetab
{
margin:5px 0 0 0px;
height:29px;
font-weight:bold;
}
#vibetab a
{
color:white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 0% no-repeat;
text-decoration: none;
padding-left: 6px;
Go through and put a direct link in to the image and it should work.
franzis
05-12-2009, 09:23 AM
Hello,
because the self-manufactured Tab drafts, so vibetab.gif always somewhat delayed, because I want to ask what the percentages are exactly the effect.
For example:
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav
{
color: black;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a#active_menutopnav span
{
background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 45% no-repeat;
}
#vibetab a:hover
{
color: white;
background:url(../images/vibetab.gif) 0% 89% no-repeat;
}
If now background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 45% no-repeat;
an amendment to background: url(../images/vibetab.gif) 100% 60% no-repeat;
is made, what happens there, the percentages with the image and its position to do?
I just want to understand and perfect this great mod to use, hence my question.
Apologies my English, I hope you can understand what I want ;)
LG Franzis
ubcforums
06-25-2009, 04:16 PM
Looks cool...
belindazhu
06-29-2009, 03:00 PM
i met a problem.
My forum is fixed in width as 980px, but when I open my forum, the tags is floated on left, not in the same verticle line with body. how to resolve it?
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/
deadlySniper
06-29-2009, 03:02 PM
This is great, thanks. But I have a different one that's just text :D
Mellymonster
09-01-2009, 04:26 PM
Is there away to have a tab that only staff can see and members cannot see?
bobster65
09-01-2009, 04:33 PM
Is there away to have a tab that only staff can see and members cannot see?
Ya, just wrap the <li> that you want "hidden" with a template conditional.. just replace 5,6 with the user group IDs that you want to be able to SEE the Tab
<if condition="is_member_of($vbulletin->userinfo, 5,6)">
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</if>
Mellymonster
09-01-2009, 04:47 PM
Oh thank you so much for the quick response.
Mellymonster
09-03-2009, 01:21 AM
For some reason, in IE this is what it looks like... I am not a regular IE user, but a member brought it to my attention
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2009/09/23.png
1320Nation
09-14-2009, 08:43 AM
Is there anyway to set this mod up so that when a tab is clicked on it opens up a new window so it doesn't pull the viewer away from our website?
Hi-Jack
09-16-2009, 06:20 PM
Hi guys, i don't want this tab to show on my portal, only the forums. When placing it in the FORUMHOME template section it only shows up there and not on the forumdisplay... Se where should i add the code for the tabs?
Limode
09-17-2009, 11:15 AM
Hi guys, i don't want this tab to show on my portal, only the forums. When placing it in the FORUMHOME template section it only shows up there and not on the forumdisplay... Se where should i add the code for the tabs?
Easy, real this : http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/template_conditionals
<if condition="THIS_SCRIPT != 'your portal' ''>
<div id="vibetab">
<ul>
<li><a href="#" id="active_menutopnav"><span>Portal</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Forum</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Article</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Mods</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Styles</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Graphic</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 1</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 2</span></a></li>
<li><a href="#"><span>Page 3</span></a></li>
</ul>
</div>
</if>
RedHacker
09-17-2009, 07:33 PM
Can create Threads but not show in etg Forum 1 but i the Forum 2 Tab ....?
RedHacker
09-18-2009, 05:11 AM
When check tab not show white for understand who tab you are.....
crazymilk
09-18-2009, 09:02 AM
Great mod ty
crazymilk
09-18-2009, 09:12 AM
How would i add dropdown menu to this?
yotsume
09-19-2009, 05:21 AM
<font color="DarkRed">Question</font>: How can we change the color of the active tab that we have click on? I would also like to show that tab a bit raised up.
Can both of these effects be done?
RedHacker
09-19-2009, 02:41 PM
Question: How can we change the color of the active tab that we have click on? I would also like to show that tab a bit raised up.
Can both of these effects be done?
Yes, how can vibedream ...?
1320Nation
09-19-2009, 07:40 PM
Is there anyway to set this mod up so that when a tab is clicked on it opens up a new window so it doesn't pull the viewer away from our website?
Is it not possible to have the tabs open a new browser?
RedHacker
09-19-2009, 09:30 PM
Is it not possible to have the tabs open a new browser?
target="_blank"
yotsume
09-20-2009, 01:02 AM
UNINSTALLED!
I am going with the bomb of menu systems here instead:
UKBL ~ Quality Drop Down Menu System
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=203521
RedHacker
09-23-2009, 08:41 AM
This modification supported......................................... .......?
Limode
09-23-2009, 02:31 PM
Question: How can we change the color of the active tab that we have click on? I would also like to show that tab a bit raised up.
Can both of these effects be done?
You need use condition.
RedHacker
09-23-2009, 05:07 PM
You need use condition.
How.....?
RedHacker
09-26-2009, 11:11 AM
Please how to know who tab show when doing click....?
RedHacker
09-26-2009, 01:08 PM
How to disable color white backkground.....?
Limode
09-26-2009, 05:57 PM
How to disable color white backkground.....?
Design new images.
RedHacker
09-26-2009, 08:24 PM
How to find foor change colors....?
FRANKTHETANK 2
09-30-2009, 08:10 PM
i cant get images. aka tabs to show. ive tried cmod and everything and i added full path to CSS, still nothen? help please
decca87
10-12-2009, 04:29 AM
same here my directory is public html/forum/images/vibetab.gif no matter what i try no images even if i try the default /images/vibetab.gif :(
RedHacker
10-12-2009, 04:39 AM
I think not support from author
decca87
10-12-2009, 05:50 PM
he maybe on holiday he hasnt been online since september he has answered others im sure he will answer us we just have to be patient :)
Numenorean7
10-12-2009, 08:59 PM
These tabs are great!
Thanks a lot!
RedHacker
10-12-2009, 09:02 PM
These tabs are great!
Thanks a lot!
If had white background
GSeybold
10-13-2009, 10:51 PM
Sorry to bother but I need help with this mod. Where does the cascade styling sheet go and where does the html page go? :o Sorry> Tech knob here:D
jacko_162
10-22-2009, 12:43 PM
it shows fine in FF but IE shows it as a bullet point list?
i tried changing;
../images/vibetab.gif
to
http://www.myforumaddress.com/images/vibetab.gif
and it still shows this way. the code looks straight and i dont see why it doesnt work in IE
bluej
12-09-2009, 06:40 AM
very nice mod, thank you :)
DrIpac
12-14-2009, 01:42 PM
i met a problem.
My forum is fixed in width as 980px, but when I open my forum, the tags is floated on left, not in the same verticle line with body. how to resolve it?
http://www.jiangsuexpat.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=279&thumb=1&d=1246291137
same problem :confused:
COL NIL SATIS
12-16-2009, 02:40 PM
works great..thank you..installed
ShackMaster
01-13-2010, 04:37 AM
Sorry... my goof... spoke too soon.
Is there a way to get the drop down menus to work with the tabs?
farazfaraz
07-12-2010, 05:57 PM
Demo?
Scrren Shot?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.